Search
Type
Format
Sort

Burks, Ruth Coker

Summary: "In 1986, twenty-six-year-old Ruth visits a friend at the hospital when she notices a door to one of the rooms is painted red. Nurses are drawing straws to see who will tend to the patient crying for his mother on the other side, all of them unwilling tohelp. Ruth immediately steps into the quarantined space herself, comforting the young man in his last moments. Before she realizes what she's...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Grove Press 2020

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Burks

Feder, Tyler

Summary: "Tyler Feder shares her story of her mother's first oncology appointment to facing reality as a motherless daughter in this frank and refreshingly funny graphic memoir"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Dial Books 2020

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult, Call number: GRAPHIC 921 Feder

Kinsley, Michael E.

Summary: "Vanity Fair columnist Michael Kinsley escorts his fellow Boomers through the door marked "Exit." The largest age cohort in history--the notorious baby boomers--is approaching the end and starting to plan their final moves in the game of life. Now they are asking: What was that all about? Was it about acquiring things or changing the world? Was it about keeping all your marbles? Or is the only...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 814.54 Kins

Rehm, Diane.

Summary: "In a deeply personal and moving book, the beloved NPR radio hostess speaks out about the long drawn-out death (from Parkinson's) of her husband of 54 years, and of her struggle to reconstruct her life without him"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2016

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Rehm

Taylor, Jill Bolte

Summary: Harvard-trained brain scientist Jill Bolte Taylor suffered a massive stroke at the age of 37. Taylor shares her unique perspective on the brain and its capacity for recovery.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Penguin Audio 2008

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Audiobooks, Call number: CDBK 362 Taylo

Hoblitzelle, Olivia Ames.

Contents: The arrow of shock -- The grace of diminishment -- A different truth -- Get your dyin' done early -- You can't mess with Bach -- From copper to gold -- Places not previously visited -- The bird that sings in the night -- Ambushed by the unknown -- Gonna jump ship -- A good day to die.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Jeremy P. Tarcher/Penguin 2010

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 362.196 Hoblit

Bauerschmidt, Tim

Summary: "When Miss Norma was diagnosed with uterine cancer, she was advised to undergo surgery, radiation, and chemotherapy. But instead of confining herself to a hospital bed for what could be her last stay, Norma--newly widowed after nearly seven decades of marriage--rose to her full height of five feet and told her doctor, 'I'm ninety years old. I'm hitting the road.' Packing what she needed, Norma...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 917.304 Bauer

Hodgman, George

Summary: "A witty, tender memoir of a son's journey home to care for his irascible mother--a tale of secrets, silences, and enduring love. When George Hodgman leaves Manhattan for his hometown of Paris, Missouri, he finds himself--an unlikely caretaker and near-lethal cook--in a head-on collision with his aging mother, Betty, a woman of wit and will. Will George lure her into assisted living? When hell...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2015

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 306.784 Hodg

Biden, Joseph R.

Summary: ""Promise me, Dad," Beau had told his father. "Give me your word that no matter what happens, you're going to be all right." Joe Biden gave him his word. Promise Me, Dad chronicles the year that followed, which would be the most momentous and challenging in Joe Biden's extraordinary life and career. Vice President Biden traveled more than a hundred thousand miles that year, across the world,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP 973.932 Biden

Chast, Roz

Summary: In her first memoir, Roz Chast brings her signature wit to the topic of aging parents. Spanning the last several years of their lives and told through a mixture of cartoons, family photos, documents, and a narrative as rife with laughs as it is with tears, Chast's memoir is both comfort and comic relief for anyone experiencing the life-altering loss of elderly parents. When it came to her...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult, Call number: GRAPHNOV Chast

Bergner, Daniel

Summary: The touching, triumphant story of a young black man's journey from violence and despair to one of the world's most elite artistic institutions. In 2011, at the age of twenty-four, Ryan Speedo Green won a nationwide competition hosted by New York's Metropolitan Opera. Today, he is a rising star performing major roles at the Met and Europe's most prestigious opera houses.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 782.109 Berg

Bell, Cece

Summary: The author recounts in graphic novel format her experiences with hearing loss at a young age, including using a bulky hearing aid, learning how to lip read, and determining her "superpower."

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Amulet Books 2014

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult, Call number: GRAPHNOV Bell

Brennan-Jobs, Lisa

Summary: "A frank, smart and captivating memoir by the daughter of Apple founder Steve Jobs. Born on a farm and named in a field by her parents--artist Chrisann Brennan and Steve Jobs--Lisa Brennan-Jobs's childhood unfolded in a rapidly changing Silicon Valley. When she was young, Lisa's father was a mythical figure who was rarely present in her life. As she grew older, her father took an interest in...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Grove Press 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Brennanjobs

Shetterly, Margot Lee

Summary: Explores the previously uncelebrated but pivotal contributions of NASA's African American women mathematicians to America's space program, describing how Jim Crow laws segregated them despite their groundbreaking successes. Includes biographies on Dorothy Jackson Vaughan (1910-2008), Mary Winston Jackson (1921-2005), Katherine Colman Goble Johnson (1918- ), Dr. Christine Mann Darden (1942- ).

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Juvenile Non-fiction, Call number: J 920 She

Laymon, Kiese

Summary: In this powerful and provocative memoir, genre-bending essayist and novelist Kiese Laymon explores what the weight of a lifetime of secrets, lies, and deception does to a black body, a black family, and a nation teetering on the brink of moral collapse.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Audiobooks, Call number: CDBK 921 Laymon 2018

Fair, Eric

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 956.7044 Fair

Laymon, Kiese

Summary: "Laymon writes eloquently and honestly about the physical manifestations of violence, grief, trauma, and abuse on his own body. He writes of his own eating disorder and gambling addiction as well as similar issues that run throughout his family. Through self-exploration, storytelling, and honest conversation with family and friends, Heavy seeks to bring what has been hidden into the light and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scribner 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Laymon 2018

Sundquist, Josh.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2015

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Young Adult Fiction, Call number: Y FICTION Sundquist

Franken, Al

Summary: The Harvard-educated comedian, talk-show host, and U.S. Senator chronicles the story of his unlikely senatorial campaign, detailing the ensuing months-long recount and what his service has taught him about America's deeply polarized political culture.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Audiobooks, Call number: CDBK 328.7 Frank

Gates, Robert Michael

Summary: The former Secretary of Defense offers a candid account of serving Presidents George W. Bush and Barack Obama during the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House Inc 2014

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 355.609 Gates

Riggs, Nina

Summary: "Built on her wildly popular Modern Love column, 'When a Couch is More Than a Couch' (9/23/2016), a breathtaking memoir of living meaningfully with 'death in the room' by the 38 year old great-great-great granddaughter of Ralph Waldo Emerson, mother to two young boys, wife of 16 years, after her terminal cancer diagnosis"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Riggs

Dunkle, Clare B.

Summary: "Clare Dunkle seemed to have an ideal life--two beautiful, high-achieving teenage daughters, a loving husband, and a satisfying and successful career as a children's book novelist. But it's when you let down your guard that the ax falls. Just after one daughter successfully conquered her depression, another daughter developed a life-threatening eating disorder. Co-published with Elena...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2015

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 616.852 Dunk

Saunders, Gerda

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 362.1968 Saunder

Kalanithi, Paul

Summary: "For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Kalan

Back to Top