Search
Type
Format
Sort

Worsley, Lucy

Summary: ""Jane Austen at Home offers a fascinating look at Jane Austen's world through the lens of the homes in which she lived and worked throughout her life. The result is a refreshingly unique perspective on Austen and her work and a beautifully nuanced exploration of gender, creativity, and domesticity." - Amanda Foreman, bestselling author of Georgianna, Duchess of Devonshire. On the eve of the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Austen

Cheney, Lynne V.

Summary: A group portrait of America's first four presidents from Virginia focuses on a series of key historical episodes that illustrate how the myriad leadership roles of Washington, Jefferson, Madison and Monroe promoted transcendental, if contradictory, national views about freedom and equality.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Ellis, Bella

Summary: Before they became legendary writers, Charlotte Brontë, Emily Brontë, and Anne Brontë were "lady detectors" in this charming historical mystery. Not yet published novelists, they have well-honed imaginations and are expert readers. And, as Charlotte remarks, "detecting is reading between the lines--it's seeing what is not there."

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Berkley 2019

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Mystery, Call number: MYSTERY Ellis

Summary: Jane Hayes's adoration of all things Jane Austen is complicating her love life. Determined to be the heroine of her own story, Jane spends her life savings on a trip to Austenland, an eccentric Austen-inspired resort, where she meets two very different gentlemen, but has a difficult time determining where fantasy ends and real life, and maybe even love, begins.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Movies, Call number: DVD DVD Austen

Barron, Stephanie.

Summary: "November, 1815. The Battle of Waterloo has come and gone, leaving the British economy in shreds; Henry Austen, high-flying banker extraordinaire, is about to declare bankruptcy dragging several of his brothers down with him. The crisis destroys Henry's health, and Jane flies to his London bedside, believing him to be dying. While she's there, the Reverend James Stanier Clarke, chaplain to His...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Soho Crime 2016

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Mystery, Call number: MYSTERY Barron

Rowland, Laura Joh.

Summary: Upon learning that she has been falsely accused of plagiarism, the normally mild-mannered Charlotte Brontë sets off for London to clear her name. But when she unintentionally witnesses a murder, Charlotte finds herself embroiled in a dangerous chain of events that forces her to confront demons from her past.--From publisher description.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Overlook Press 2008

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Mystery, Call number: MYSTERY Rowland

Jenner, Natalie

Summary: ""Fans of The Chilbury Ladies' Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society... A charming and memorable debut, which reminds us of the universal language of literature and the power of books to unite and heal." -Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris Just after the Second World War, in the small English village...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Press 2020

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Jenner

Flynn, Kathleen A.

Summary: Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing debut novel offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world's most celebrated and beloved authors: two researchers from the future are sent back in time to meet Jane and recover a suspected unpublished novel.London, 1815: Two travelers--Rachel Katzman and Liam Finucane--arrive in a field in rural England, disheveled and weighed down...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperCollins 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Audiobooks, Call number: CDBK FICTION Flynn

Shoemaker, Sarah

Summary: "<Strong>"Reader, she married me."</strong> For one hundred seventy years, Edward Fairfax Rochester has stood as one of literature's most romantic, most complex, and most mysterious heroes. Sometimes haughty, sometimes tender-professing his love for Jane Eyre in one breath and denying it in the next-Mr. Rochester has for generations mesmerized, beguiled, and, yes, baffled fans of Charlotte...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Grand Central Publishing 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Shoem

Riding, Jacqueline

Summary: The 1745 Jacobite Rebellion was a turning point in British history. It continues to be obscured by fiction and myth, as personified by the heroic, gallant but doomed 'Bonnie Prince Charlie' pitted against the heartless victor, 'Butcher' Cumberland. In the years 1745-46, nothing was certain. While utilizing past and recent scholarship, this account draws extensively on a wealth of contemporary...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 941.0722 Riding

Price, Sarah

Summary: "Set in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, book one of The Amish Classics series is a retelling of Pride and Prejudice, covering the same issues of manners, upbringing, morality, education, and marriage within the Amish community. SERIES DESCRIPTION: The Amish Classics Series is a retelling of novels by Jane Austen in a contemporary Amish setting. The main storylines are accurately followed but...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Price

Ambrose, Stephen E.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster 1996

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 978 Amb

Shields, Carol.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2001

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Aus

Summary: Thomas Cromwell is a brutal blacksmith's son who rises from the ashes of personal disaster and deftly picks his way through a court where 'man is wolf to man.' King Henry VIII is obsessed with protecting the Tudor dynasty by securing his succession with a male heir to the throne. Told from Cromwell's perspective, "Wolf Hall" follows the complex machinations and back room dealings of this...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2015

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Movies, Call number: DVD DVD Wolf

Weir, Alison.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ballantine Books 1996

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 920 Wei

Maguire, Gregory

Summary: Following her brother's death and her mother's emotional breakdown, Laura now lives on the Upper East Side of Manhattan, in a lonely townhouse she shares with her old-world, strict, often querulous grandparents. But the arrangement may be temporary. The quiet, awkward teenager has been getting into trouble at home and has been expelled from her high school for throwing a record album at a...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: William Morrow 2020

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Maguire

Bell, Kristen

Summary: A princess sets out on a journey to find another missing princess, and save the kingdom from eternal winter.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Buena Vista Home Entertaiment 2014

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Movies, Call number: J DVD Frozen

Lu, Marie

Summary: Born with a gift for music, Nannerl Mozart has just one wish: to be remembered forever. She delights audiences with her masterful playing, but has little hope she'll ever become the acclaimed composer she longs to be. She is a young woman in 18th century Europe, and that means composing is forbidden to her. She will perform only until she reaches a marriageable age-- her tyrannical father has...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: G. P. Putnam's Sons 2020

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Young Adult Fiction, Call number: Y FICTION Lu

Leckie, Robert.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Castle Books 2006

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 973.2 Leckie 2020

Luxenberg, Steve

Summary: Documents the story of the infamous nineteenth-century Supreme Court ruling in favor of segregation, tracing the half-century of history that shaped the ruling and the reverberations that are still being felt today.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: W.W. Norton & Company 2019

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 342.73 Luxenberg 2020

Summary: Early eighteenth-century England is at war with the French. A frail Queen Anne occupies the throne, and her friend Lady Sarah tends to her ill health. When a new servant Abigail arrives, Sarah takes her under her wing, and Abigail sees a chance at a return to her aristocratic roots. As the politics of war become time-consuming for Sarah, Abigail steps in to fill in as the Queen's companion....

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2019

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

2 available in Movies, Call number: DVD DVD Favourite

Roberts, Gary L.

Summary: "At dawn on the morning of November 29, 1864, Colonel John Milton Chivington gave the command that led to slaughter of 230 peaceful Cheyennes and Arapahos--primarily women, children, and elderly--camped under the protection of the U. S. government along Sand Creek in Colorado Territory and flying both an American flag and a white flag. The Sand Creek massacre seized national attention in the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 978.802 Roberts

Miranda, Lin-Manuel

Summary: Offers a behind-the-scenes view of Hamilton the musical, detailing the many dramatic episodes in Alexander Hamilton's life.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 782.14 Mirand

Gragg, Rod.

Summary: Describes the expedition led by Meriwether Lewis and William Clark to explore the unknown western regions of America at the beginning of the nineteenth century. Includes facsimiles of journal entries, maps, and letters inserted in folders and under flaps.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Rutledge Hill Press 2003

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Juvenile Non-fiction, Call number: J 917.804 Gragg

Back to Top