Search
Type
Format
Sort

Winn, Raynor

Summary: "The incredible follow-up to the international bestseller The Salt Path, a story of finding your way back home. Nature holds the answers for Raynor and her husband Moth. After walking 630 homeless miles along The Salt Path, living on the windswept and wild English coastline; the cliffs, the sky and the chalky earth now feel like their home. Moth has a terminal diagnosis, but together on the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Penguin Books 2021

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Winn

Du Maurier, Daphne

Summary: A young bride is brought by her new husband to his manor house in England. There she finds that the memory of her husband's first wife haunts her, and she tries to discover the secret of that mysterious woman's death

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Doubleday & Company 1938

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION DuMaur

Summary: 1794: War and the revolution in France hang over Britain. In Cornwall, George Warleggan grows his empire with a view to crush the Poldarks while Ross and Demelza attempt to repair their relationship. Ross must ask himself how long he can allow George's ascent to continue unchecked. Facing battles both at home and abroad, will Ross answer the call and risk losing everything he holds dear?

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Movies, Call number: DVD DVD Poldark-3

Todd, Charles.

Summary: Inspector Ian Rutledge, still haunted by old war memories, struggles to put his troubles aside and solve the murder of a well-known Cornish poet. But when he finds himself unable to escape the ghosts of the past, Rutledge decides to take an unorthodox route and use his psychological delusions to help him catch a killer.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Paperbacks 1999

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Mystery, Call number: PBK/MYS Todd

Rothschild, Hannah

Summary: "For more than 700 years, the vast, rambling Trelawney Castle in Cornwall--turrets, follies, a room for every day of the year, four miles of corridors and 500,000 acres--was the magnificent and grand "three dimensional calling card" of the Earls of Trelawney. By 2008, it is in a complete state of ruin due to the dulled ambition and the financial ineptitude of the twenty-four earls, two world...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2020

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Rothschild

Summary: Poldark, the drama that has become a cultural phenomenon, continues for a second season on the stunning beaches of Cornwall. It's 1790 and there is riot and revolution in the air. Ross Poldark, the character redefined by the smoldering Aidan Turner, must fight for his freedom when George Warleggan tries to have him hanged as a revolutionary. While Francis and Elizabeth watch on in horror, can...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Movies, Call number: DVD DVD Pol#2

Summary: It is a new century and with it comes the promise of a hopeful future, but the past casts a long shadow over Cornwall. Following the death of Elizabeth, Ross Poldark resolves to put Westminster behind him and spend more time with the people he loves. However, when an old friend emerges with a plea for help, Ross is compelled to challenge the establishment again.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: PBS 2019

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Movies, Call number: DVD Polda

Morton, Kate

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Washington Square Press 2010

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Morton

Morton, Kate

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Center Point Pub. 2009

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FICTION Morton

Atherton, Nancy.

Summary: "When a strapping young Australian named Jack MacBride arrives in Finch to wrap up his late uncle's affairs, heads turn in the sleepy English village. But when Lori volunteers to help Jack clear out his uncle's overgrown garden, they discover something even more shocking than a stranger turning up in Finch. After Lori laughingly tosses a coin into the garden's old well and makes a wish, she is...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Mystery, Call number: MYSTERY Ather

Colgan, Jenny

Summary: Moving to a Cornish seaside village, hoping for peace and solitude, lonely registrar Marisa Rosso, feeling like life is passing her by, unexpectedly finds her joy again with the help of her noisy neighbor, the community spirit and a campaign to save the local bakery.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2021

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Colgan

Kuipers, Dean

Summary: "For readers of The Stranger in the Woods and H Is for Hawk, a beautifully written and emotionally rewarding memoir about a father, his three sons, and a scrappy 100-acre piece of land in rural Michigan. Bruce Kuipers was good at hunting and fishing, but not at anything else that makes a real father or husband. Distant, angry, and a serial cheater, he destroyed his relationship with his wife,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Bloomsbury Publishing 2019

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 977.45 Kuipers 2019

Overmyer, Leonard G.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Overmyer Historicals 1999

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Michigan Collection, Call number: MC 973.747 Overmyer

Chambers, Cassie

Summary: "Nestled in the Appalachian mountains, Owsley County is the poorest county in Kentucky and the second poorest in the country. Buildings are crumbling and fields sit vacant, as tobacco farming and coal mining decline. But strong women are finding creative ways to subsist in their hollers in the hills. Cassie Chambers grew up amidst these hollers, and through the women who raised her, she traces...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ballantine Books 2020

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Chambers 2020

Winter, Jonah

Summary: Offers an illustrated introduction to the life of Ruth Bader Ginsburg that explores the ways that the society in which she grew up was unfair toward women, Jews, and other groups, and how she spent her life working to fight that unfairness.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Abrams Books for Young Readers 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Juvenile Non-fiction, Call number: J 921 Gins 2017

Asher, Zain E. (Zain Ejiofor)

Summary: "Living in Brixton and awaiting the return of her husband and young son from Nigeria, Obiajulu Ejiofor received shattering news. There had been a fatal car crash, and one of them was dead. In Where the Children Take Us, Obiajulu's daughter, Zain Asher, tells the story of her family and her mother's deeply personal fight to protect her children from the daily pressures of poverty, crime, and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2022

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Ejiofor

Summary: The numerous adventures of a friendly staff at a country veterinarian practice in 1930s to 1940s Yorkshire.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2021

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Movies, Call number: DVD All 1

Summary: This new, 1950s-set adaptation of the classic novel 'The Darling Buds of May' captures the warmth, optimism, and escapism of the Larkin family for a modern generation.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2022

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Movies, Call number: DVD Larkins 1

Summary: A trip back home to Glasgow presents James with a dilemma that will mean choosing between the people he loves. As Helen and James navigate their feelings for one another, Siegfried, Tristan, and Mrs. Hall are also forced to consider their places in the world, while James must decide between supporting his family or following his heart.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2022

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Movies, Call number: DVD All 2

Salkeld, Audrey.

Summary: Discusses the life of British mountain climber, George Mallory, the discovery of his body seventy-five years after his death, and the debate over whether Mallory was the first person to reach the top of Mount Everest.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: National Geographic Society 2000

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Juvenile Non-fiction, Call number: J 769.52 Salkel

Bude, John

Summary: Never, even in his most optimistic moments, had he visualized a scene of this nature: himself in one arm-chair, a police officer in another, and between them a mystery. The Reverend Dodd, vicar of the quiet Cornish village of Boscawen, spends his evenings reading detective stories by the fireside but heaven forbid that the shadow of any real crime should ever fall across his seaside parish. But...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Poisoned Pen Press, in association with the British Library 2016

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Mystery, Call number: MYSTERY Bude

George, Elizabeth

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper 2009

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Mystery, Call number: PBK MYS Georg

Dunn, Carola.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Minotaur Books 2010

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Mystery, Call number: MYSTERY Dunn

Summary: In the late 1930s, as the Great Depression deepens, jazz thrives. The saxophone emerges as an iconic instrument of the music; this segment introduces two of its masters, Coleman Hawkins and Lester Young. Young migrates to Kansas City, where a vibrant music scene is prospering with musicians such as trumpeter Harry "Sweets" Edison and drummers Jo Jones and Chick Webb. Out of this ferment emerges...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: PBS DVD 2000

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Movies, Call number: DVD 781 Burns

Back to Top