Search
Type
Format
Sort

McMorris, Kristina

Summary: 2 CHILDREN FOR SALE The sign is a last resort. It sits on a farmhouse porch in 1931, but could be found anywhere in an era of breadlines, bank runs and broken dreams. It could have been written by any mother facing impossible choices. For struggling reporter Ellis Reed, the gut-wrenching scene evokes memories of his family's dark past. He snaps a photograph of the children, not meant for...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Sourcebooks Landmark 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION McMorris

Sawyer, Kim Vogel

Summary: Addie Cowherd dreamt of being a novelist and offering readers the escape that books gave her during her tragic childhood. But it's the Great Depression, and when her adoptive father loses his job, Addie is forced to leave college and take the only employment she can find: delivering books on horseback to poor coal mining families in the hills of Kentucky. The community of Boone's Hollow is...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: WaterBrook 2020

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Sawyer

Holm, Jennifer L.

Summary: Ten-year-old Beans Curry, a member of the Keepsies, the best marble playing gang in Depression-era Key West, Florida, engages in various schemes to earn money while "New Dealers" from Washington, D.C., arrive to turn run down Key West into a tourist resort.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Juvenile Fiction, Call number: J FICTION Holm

Barnaby, Hannah Rodgers.

Summary: "Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, step inside Mosco's Traveling Wonder Show, a menagerie of human curiosities and misfits guaranteed to astound and amaze! But perhaps the strangest act of Mosco's display is Portia Remini, a normal among the freaks, on the run from McGreavy's Home for Wayward Girls, where Mister watches and waits. He said he would always find Portia, that she could never...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 2012

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Juvenile Fiction, Call number: J FICTION Barnab

Tripp, Valerie 1951-

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2001

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Juvenile Fiction, Call number: J FICTION Ameri

Curtis, Christopher

Summary: With love and determination befitting the "world's greatest family," twelve-year-old Deza Malone, her older brother Jimmie, and their parents endure tough times in Gary, Indiana, and later Flint, Michigan, during the Great Depression.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Wendy Lamb Books 2012

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Juvenile Fiction, Call number: J FICTION Curtis

Wolk, Lauren

Summary: When twelve-year-old Ellie and her family lose livelihood and move to a mountain cabin in 1934, she quickly learns to be an outdoors woman and, when needed, a healer.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Dutton Children's Books 2020

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Juvenile Fiction, Call number: J FICTION Wolk

Hannah, Kristin.

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: Texas, 1934. Millions are out of work and a drought has broken the Great Plains. Farmers are fighting to keep their land and their livelihoods. The crops are failing, the water is drying up, and dust threatens to bury them all. In this uncertain and dangerous time, Elsa Martinelli, like so many of her neighbors, must make an agonizing choice: fight for the land she loves or go west, to...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Macmillan Audio 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Hannah, Kristin

6 holds on 3 copies

Summary: "From Kristin Hannah, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Nightingale and The Great Alone, comes an epic novel of love and heroism and hope, set against the backdrop of one of America's most defining eras-the Great Depression. Texas, 1934. Millions are out of work and a drought has broken the Great Plains. Farmers are fighting to keep their land and their livelihoods as the crops...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Tripp, Valerie 1951-

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2006

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Movies, Call number: J DVD American

Cullen, Lynn

Summary: Ruth has been single-handedly raising four young daughters and running her family's Indiana farm for eight long years, since her husband, John, fell into a comatose state. She wishes she could trade places with her older sister, June: blonde and beautiful, married to a wealthy doctor, living in a mansion in St. Paul... and a coveted job as one of "the Bettys," the recipe developers who populate...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2019

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Cullen

Barrows, Annie.

Summary: "From the co-author of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society comes a wise, witty, and exuberant novel, perfect for fans of Lee Smith, that illuminates the power of loyalty and forgiveness, memory and truth, and the courage it takes to do what's right. Annie Barrows once again evokes the charm and eccentricity of a small town filled with extraordinary characters. Her new novel, The...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2015

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Barrow

Back to Top