Search
Type
Format
Sort

Heyman, Stephen

Summary: "How a literary idol of the Lost Generation launched America's organic and sustainable food movement. In interwar France, Louis Bromfield was equally famous as a writer and as a gardener. He pruned dahlias with Edith Wharton, weeded Gertrude Stein's vegetable patch, and fed the starving artists who flocked to his farmhouse outside Paris. His best-selling novels earned him a Pulitzer-and the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2020

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Bromfield

Chevalier, Tracy.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Cheva

Smarsh, Sarah

Summary: During Smarsh's turbulent childhood in Kansas in the '80s and '90s, the forces of cyclical poverty and the country's changing economic policies solidified her family's place among the working poor. Her personal history affirms the corrosive impact intergenerational poverty can have on individuals, families, and communities. Combining memoir with powerful analysis and cultural commentary, this...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scribner 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Smarsh 2018

McCullough, David G.

Summary: "Best-selling author David McCullough tells the story of the settlers who began America's migration west, overcoming almost-unimaginable hardships to build in the Ohio wilderness a town and a government that incorporated America's highest ideals"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster 2019

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Gup, Ted

Summary: The author's grandfather, Sam Stone, placed an ad in the Canton, OH, newspaper shortly before Christmas in 1933, offering cash gifts to seventy-five families in distress. Readers were asked to send letters describing their hardships to a benefactor calling himself Mr. B. Virdot. The author investigates a suitcase full of letters responding to these ads as he learns more about his grandfather's...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Penguin Press 2010

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 977.162 Gup

Kuipers, Dean

Summary: "For readers of The Stranger in the Woods and H Is for Hawk, a beautifully written and emotionally rewarding memoir about a father, his three sons, and a scrappy 100-acre piece of land in rural Michigan. Bruce Kuipers was good at hunting and fishing, but not at anything else that makes a real father or husband. Distant, angry, and a serial cheater, he destroyed his relationship with his wife,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Bloomsbury Publishing 2019

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 977.45 Kuipers 2019

Abbott, Karen

Summary: "The epic true crime story of bootlegger George Remus and the murder that shocked the nation, from the New York Times bestselling author of Sin in the Second City and Liar, Temptress, Soldier, Spy In the early days of Prohibition, long before Al Capone became a household name, a German immigrant named George Remus quits practicing law and starts trafficking whiskey. Within two years he's a...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Crown 2019

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 345.77 Abbott 2019

Rebanks, James.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2015

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 636.300 Rebank

Skaife, Christopher

Summary: "A narrative by the Tower of London's official Ravenmaster about what it's like to live among the ravens at England's most famous national monument, woven together with insight from folklore, history, and contemporary behavioral science about this unusualbird"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Skaife 2018

Krosoczka, Jarrett

Summary: "In kindergarten, Jarrett Krosoczka's teacher asks him to draw his family, with a mommy and a daddy. But Jarrett's family is much more complicated than that. His mom is an addict, in and out of rehab, and in and out of Jarrett's life. His father is a mystery -- Jarrett doesn't know where to find him, or even what his name is. Jarrett lives with his grandparents -- two very loud, very loving,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Graphix, an imprint of Scholastic 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult, Call number: GRAPHNOV Kros

Brennan-Jobs, Lisa

Summary: "A frank, smart and captivating memoir by the daughter of Apple founder Steve Jobs. Born on a farm and named in a field by her parents--artist Chrisann Brennan and Steve Jobs--Lisa Brennan-Jobs's childhood unfolded in a rapidly changing Silicon Valley. When she was young, Lisa's father was a mythical figure who was rarely present in her life. As she grew older, her father took an interest in...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Grove Press 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Brennanjobs

Hurston, Zora Neale

Summary: The true story of the last known survivor of the Atlantic slave trade, illegally smuggled from Africa on the last "black cargo" ship to arrive in the United States.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperCollins 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Audiobooks, Call number: CDBK 921 Lewis

Molina, Bengie

Summary: "The inspiring true story of the poor Puerto Rican factory worker, Benjamin Molina Santana, who against all odds raised the greatest baseball dynasty of all time: Molina's three sons--Bengie, Jose, and Yadier--have each earned two World Series rings, which is unprecedented in the sport, and his story is told by one of them, Bengie. A baseball rules book. A tape measure. A lottery ticket. ...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2015

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 796.397 Ryan

Shapiro, Dani

Summary: "In the spring of 2016, through a genealogy website to which she had whimsically submitted her DNA, Dani Shapiro received the astonishing news that her beloved deceased father was not her biological father. Over the course of a single day, her entire history--the life she had lived--crumbled beneath her. In just a few hours of Internet sleuthing, she was able to piece together the story of her...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2019

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Shapiro 2019

McElmeel, Sharron L.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Libraries Unlimited 1999

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 810.9 Mcelm

Biden, Joseph R.

Summary: ""Promise me, Dad," Beau had told his father. "Give me your word that no matter what happens, you're going to be all right." Joe Biden gave him his word. Promise Me, Dad chronicles the year that followed, which would be the most momentous and challenging in Joe Biden's extraordinary life and career. Vice President Biden traveled more than a hundred thousand miles that year, across the world,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP 973.932 Biden

Chabon, Michael

Summary: Essays inspired by Chabon's interactions with his four children and his own father illuminate the meaning, magic, and mysteries of fatherhood.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 814 Chabon 2018

Giles, Robert H.

Summary: When Truth Mattered is an account of a young editor and his staff painstakingly pursuing the truth of the Kent State shootings on May 4, 1970, a tragedy that has haunted the nation for 50 years and significantly changed the debate about the Vietnam War. The heart-pounding story captures the flash of National Guard rifles, the bloody aftermath of four students killed and nine wounded, and the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Mission Point Press 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Gaines, Chip

Summary: The Magnolia Story is the first book from Chip and Joanna, offering their fans a detailed look at their life together. From the very first renovation project they ever tackled together, to the project that nearly cost them everything; from the childhood memories that shaped them, to the twists and turns that led them to the life they share on the farm today. They both attended Baylor University...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: W Publishing, an imprint of Thomas Nelson, Inc. 2016

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Gaines

Hurston, Zora Neale

Summary: In 1927, Zora Neale Hurston went to Plateau, Alabama, just outside Mobile, to interview eighty-six-year-old Cudjo Lewis. Of the millions of men, women, and children transported from Africa to America as slaves, Cudjo was then the only person alive to tell the story of this integral part of the nation's history. Hurston was there to record Cudjo's firsthand account of the raid that led to his...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Amistad, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Lewis

Chabon, Michael.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper 2009

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Chab

Castillo, Linda

Summary: "Chief of Police Kate Burkholder's past comes back to haunt her when she receives a call from Amish widower Adam Lengacher. While enjoying a sleigh ride with his children, he discovered a car stuck in a snowdrift and an unconscious woman inside. Kate arrives at his farm and is shocked to discover the driver is a woman she hasn't seen in ten years: fellow cop Gina Colorosa. Ten years ago, Kate...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Minotaur Books 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Lynch, Patrick James

Summary: An illustrated account of the life of John Howland, the young servant who was indentured to Pilgrim John Carver, describes how he embarked on the Mayflower and survived a fall off the ship before helping his ill shipmates by scouting out a safe harbor.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Candlewick Press 2015

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: JE Lynch

Summary: Feature adaptation of Beatrix Potter's classic tale of a rebellious rabbit trying to sneak into a farmer's vegetable garden.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Movies, Call number: J DVD Peter

Back to Top