Search
Type
Format
Sort

Harkaway, Nick

Summary: "From the widely acclaimed author of The Gone-Away World and Tigerman, a virtuosic new novel and his most ambitious book yet--equal parts dark comedy, gripping detective story, and mind-bending philosophical puzzle--set in a not-too-distant-future, high-tech surveillance state. In the world of Gnomon, citizens are ceaselessly observed and democracy has reached a pinnacle of "transparency." When...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Hark

deWitt, Patrick

Summary: Frances Price-- tart widow, possessive mother, and Upper East Side force of nature-- is in dire straits, beset by scandal and impending bankruptcy. Her adult son Malcolm is no help, mired in a permanent state of arrested development. And then there's the Price's aging cat, Small Frank, who Frances believes houses the spirit of her late husband, an infamously immoral litigator and world-class...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ecco, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION DeWitt

Barry, Dave.

Summary: "Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist and bestselling author of Dave Barry Turns 40 now shows how to age gracefully, taking cues from his beloved and highly intelligent dog, Lucy. Faced with the obstacles and challenges of life after middle age, Dave Barry turns to his best dog, Lucy, to learn how to live his best life. From "Make New Friends" (an unfortunate fail when he can't overcome his dislike...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 818 Barry 2019

Weinersmith, Kelly

Summary: "From a top scientist and the creator of the hugely popular web comic Saturday Morning Breakfast Cereal, a hilariously illustrated investigation into future technologies--from how to fling a ship into deep space on the cheap to 3D organ printing. What will the world of tomorrow be like? How does progress happen? And why do we not have a lunar colony already? What is the holdup? In this smart...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Penguin Press 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 601.12 WEIN 2017

Ansari, Aziz

Summary: At some point, every one of us embarks on a journey to find love. We meet people, date, get into and out of relationships, all with the hope of finding someone with whom we share a deep connection. This seems standard now, but it's wildly different from what people did even just decades ago. Single people today have more romantic options than at any point in human history. With technology, our...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2015

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 646.770 Ansari

Hodgman, John

Summary: A memoir of the author's cursed travels through the woods of Massachusetts and coastal Maine, describing his midlife transformation from an idealistic youth to an eccentric family man.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 814.54 HODG 2017

Quinn, Colin

Summary: How can a nation composed of states that range from Utah ('The church of states') to Vermont ('The state of relevant old people') possibly hang together? In Colin Quinn's new audiobook, the popular comedian, social commentator, and star of the shows Red State Blue State and Unconstitutional tackles the condition of the union today.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Macmillan Audio 2020

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Audiobooks, Call number: CD BK 818.6 Quinn

Chast, Roz

Summary: In her first memoir, Roz Chast brings her signature wit to the topic of aging parents. Spanning the last several years of their lives and told through a mixture of cartoons, family photos, documents, and a narrative as rife with laughs as it is with tears, Chast's memoir is both comfort and comic relief for anyone experiencing the life-altering loss of elderly parents. When it came to her...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult, Call number: GRAPHNOV Chast

Franzen, Jonathan.

Summary: "A magnum opus for our morally complex times from the author of Freedom Young Pip Tyler doesn't know who she is. She knows that her real name is Purity, that she's saddled with $130,000 in student debt, that she's squatting with anarchists in Oakland, and that her relationship with her mother--her only family--is hazardous. But she doesn't have a clue who her father is, why her mother has...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2015

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Franz

McAllister, Tom

Summary: Recently suspended for a so-called outburst, high school English teacher Anna Crawford is stewing over the injustice at home when she is shocked to see herself named on television as a suspect in a shooting at the school where she works. Though she is quickly exonerated, and the actual teenage murderer identified, her life is nevertheless held up for relentless scrutiny and judgment as this...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Liveright Publishing Corporation, a division of W.W. Norton & Company 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION McALL

Sedaris, David

Summary: Personal essays share the author's adventures after buying a vacation house on the Carolina coast and his reflections on middle age and mortality.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown and Company 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 814.54 Sedaris

Walker, Nico

Summary: "Jesus' Son meets Reservoir Dogs in a breakneck-paced debut novel about love, war, bank robberies, and heroin. Cleveland, 2003. A young man is just a college freshman when he meets Emily. They share a passion for Edward Albee and ecstasy and fall hard and fast in love. But soon Emily has to move home to Elba, New York, and he flunks out of school and joins the army. Desperate to keep their...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Knopf 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Walker

Backman, Fredrik

Summary: People say Beartown is finished. A tiny community nestled deep in the forest, it is slowly losing ground to the ever-encroaching trees. But down by the lake stands an old ice rink, built generations ago by the working men who founded this town. And in that ice rink is the reason people in Beartown believe tomorrow will be better than today. Their junior ice hockey team is about to compete in...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Audiobooks, Call number: CDBK FICTION Back

Carey, Peter

Summary: "From the two-time Booker Prize winner: a masterful, exceedingly timely new novel--at once dark, suspenseful, and seriously funny--that takes us on a journey to the place where the cyber underworld of radicals and hackers collides with international power politics. When an internet virus throws open the gates at thousands of American prisons, the hacker turns out to be an unlikely young...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2015

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Carey

Lepucki, Edan

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Lepuc

Damm, Peter L.

Summary: Stories of a young boy's journey to adulthood in small town rural Upper Midwest in the 1950s and 60s. A funny, poignant, moving and beautifully written memoir about the challenges, mischief, fears and lessons of growing up as the youngest of five brothers and one sister, Catholic education, the natural world, trying to understand religious and adult mysteries, honor, family, truth and...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Blackstone Publishing 2019

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Millet, Lydia

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2015

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Millet

O'Donnell, Lisa

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2013

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION O'Donn

Sedaris, David

Summary: The American humorist, author, and radio contributor shares his most memorable work in a collection of stories and essays that feature him shopping for rare taxidermy, hitchhiking with a quadriplegic, and hand-feeding a carnivorous bird.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown and Company 2020

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 818 Sedaris

Campbell, Bonnie Jo

Summary: A collection of stories featuring the working-class struggles and self-sabotaging betrayals of mother and daughter protagonists includes "My Dog Roscoe," "Blood Work, 1999" and "Home to Die.".

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2015

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Campb

Heald, Paul J.

Summary: "When new evidence arises in a cold case, can Professor Hopkins refrain from delving into a newfound world of corruption, vice, and danger? Stanley Hopkins cannot resist the invitation from a honey-voiced US attorney asking him to track down the source of photographs of a young dance major abducted five years earlier from her apartment in Clarkeston, Georgia. A journalist has stumbled across...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Mystery, Call number: MYSTERY Heald

Lindsay, Jeffry P.

Summary: When an actor famed for losing himself in his characters performs research at the Miami Police Department and becomes fixated on Dexter Morgan, the blood-spatter analyst finds his every move shadowed and invasively analyzed in ways that make him fear exposure by the paparazzi.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2013

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Lindsay

Miller, Jason

Summary: "Pitbull fighters, shadowy ne'er-do-wells, and murder mark Jason Miller's wry, darkly atmospheric second novel in his Little Egypt series--perfect for fans of Frank Bill and Greg Iles. One hot summer day, in his home in the southern Illinois coal country known as Little Egypt--a Midwest Gothic wonderland of barren vistas, sinister hollows, petty corruption, and deeply strange characters--the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Mystery, Call number: MYSTERY Miller

Quick, Matthew

Summary: Escaping her ritzy Florida life and her cheating pornographer husband, Portia Kane returns to the South Jersey home of her youth and resolves to save herself by assisting a beloved English teacher who has retired after a traumatic incident.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2015

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Quick

Back to Top