Search
Type
Format
Sort

Hauser, Brooke.

Summary: Some walked across deserts and mountains to get here. Others flew in on planes. One arrived after escaping in a suitcase. And some won't say how they got here. These are "the new kids": new to America and all the routines and rituals of an American high school, from lonely first days to prom. They attend International High School at Prospect Heights in Brooklyn, which is like most high schools...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Free Pr. 2012

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Young Adult Non-fiction, Call number: Y 373.18 Hauser

Collins, Paul

Summary: On Long Island, a farmer finds a duck pond turned red with blood. On the Lower East Side, two boys playing at a pier discover a floating human torso wrapped tightly in oilcloth. Blueberry pickers near Harlem stumble upon neatly severed limbs in an overgrown ditch. Clues to a horrifying crime are turning up all over New York, but the police are baffled: There are no witnesses, no motives, no...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Crown 2011

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 364.152 Collin

Martin, Wednesday.

Summary: "Like an urban Dian Fossey, Wednesday Martin decodes the primate social behaviors of Upper East Side mothers in a brilliantly original and witty memoir about her adventures assimilating into that most secretive and elite tribe. After marrying a man from the Upper East Side and moving to the neighborhood, Wednesday Martin struggled to fit in. Drawing on her background in anthropology and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2015

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 974.71 Martin

Brashares, Ann.

Summary: Seventeen-year-old Prenna, an immigrant who moved to New York when she was twelve, came from another time and she and the other travelers must follow strict rules to avoid destroying the new life they have worked so hard to get, as well as the one person Prenna is desperate to protect.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Young Adult Fiction, Call number: Y FICTION Brash

Summary: On Christmas Eve, psychologist Marcia Fieldstone asks her radio audience to share their dreams for the holiday season. Eight-year-old Jonah calls in from Seattle, with a wish for his dad to find a new wife. Mom died a year-and-a-half ago. Baltimore Sun reporter Annie Reed also hears the broadcast, when Jonah's architect father Sam gets on the air. Sam talks about the magical moment he met his...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Tri-Star Pictures 2003

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Movies, Call number: DVD DVD Sleep

Saslow, Eli

Summary: "From a Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter, a powerful account of Derek Black's journey from white supremacist hero to apostle of tolerance"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 320.540 Saslow 2018

Walls, Jeannette.

Summary: In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Jeannette Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric and severely misguided family. The child of an alcoholic father and an eccentric artist mother discusses her family's nomadic upbringing, during which she and her siblings fended for...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scribner 2006

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 362.820 Walls

Stanton, Brandon

Summary: "In the summer of 2010, photographer Brandon Stanton began an ambitious project--to single-handedly create a photographic census of New York City. The photos he took and the accompanying interviews became the blog Humans of New York. His audience steadily grew from a few hundred followers to, at present count, over twelve million. In 2013, his book Humans of New York, based on that blog, was...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2015

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 974.7122 Stanton

Fink, Sheri,.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2013

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 362.110 Fink

Block, Lawrence

Summary: Well past retirement age and feeling his years--but still staying sober one day at a time--Matthew Scudder learns that alcoholics aren't the only ones who count the days since their last slip. Matt's longtime partner, Elaine, tells him of a group of former sex workers who do something similar, helping each other stay out of the life. But when one young woman describes an abusive client who's...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Subterranean Press 2019

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Mystery, Call number: MYSTERY Block

Michaelis, Arno

Summary: Documents the story of the unlikely and powerful friendship between a Sikh and a former white supremacist in the aftermath of Wade Michael Page's murderous 2012 attack on a Wisconsin Sikh Temple, describing how they launched the Serve 2 Unite organization to promote community inclusion and fight hate crimes.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Press 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 305.8 Michaelis 2018

McCourt, Frank

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scribner 2005

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 McCou

Gulledge, Laura Lee.

Summary: Paige Turner, who has just moved to New York with her family, uses her sketchbook to try to make sense of her new life, and she finds the process of sharing her artwork and identity with others both scary and rewarding.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Amulet Books 2011

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult, Call number: GRAPHNOV Paige

Thompson, Victoria (Victoria E.)

Summary: Detective Frank Malloy is assigned to a new case - finding a missing woman who had been responding to lonely hearts ads in the paper before she mysteriously disappeared. Malloy knows the kind of drifters that use these ads to entice women. Worse, he knows they are likely to do much more than just kidnap their victims. Still trying to keep their relationship under wraps, Malloy seeks help from...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2015

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Mystery, Call number: PBK MYS Thom

Orgill, Roxane

Summary: When Esquire magazine planned an issue to salute the American jazz scene in 1958, graphic designer Art Kane pitched a crazy idea: how about gathering a group of beloved jazz musicians and photographing them? He didn't own a good camera, didn't know if any musicians would show up, and insisted on setting up the shoot in front of a Harlem brownstone. Could he pull it off? In a captivating...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Juvenile Non-fiction, Call number: J 781.65 Orgill

Towles, Amor.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thorndike Press 2011

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FICTION Towles

Thompson,Victoria

Summary: High society member Felix Decker, who belongs to one of New York's oldest families, resigns himself to partnering up with Irish Catholic police detective Frank Malloy when a member of his private club is murdered in nineteenth-century Manhattan.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Berkley Prime Crime 2012

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Mystery, Call number: MYSTERY Thomp

Davids, Patricia

Summary: The Amish midwife : "Amish midwife Anne Stoltzfus is used to late-night visitors--but she's shocked to find reclusive bachelor Joseph Lapp on her doorstep with a baby in his arms. Their neighborly quarrels are pushed aside when Joseph explains that his sister has left her daughter in his care--and Joseph needs Anne to be her nanny. Soon they're bonding over baby Leah, and the love they feel for...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harlequin Love Inspired 2016

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: PBK FIC Davids

Towles, Amor.

Summary: Set in New York City in 1938, tells the story of a watershed year in the life of an uncompromising 25-year-old named Katey Kontent. Armed with little more than a formidable intellect, a bracing wit, and her own brand of cool nerve, Katey embarks on a journey from a Wall Street secretarial pool through the upper echelons of New York society in search of a brighter future.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Books on Tape 2011

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Audiobooks, Call number: CDBK FICTION Towles

Hurley, Blair

Summary: "Nicole has become sexually and emotionally entangled with her mentor. To break free, she must retrace her entire life's journey--from her strict Irish Catholic upbringing to her drug-fueled year as a teenage runaway. Even as she reinvents herself in New York City, her master's intoxicating voice pursues her, whispering dangerously in her ear. Somehow, he knows everything. A hypnotic and daring...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: W. W. Norton & Company 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Hurley

Verria, Lawrence.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Naval Institute Press 2012

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 940.545 Verria

Stead, Rebecca

Summary: As Bridge makes her way through seventh grade on Manhattan's Upper West Side with her best friends, curvaceous Em, crusader Tab, and a curious new friend--or more than friend--Sherm, she finds the answer she has been seeking since she barely survived an accident at age eight: "What is my purpose?".

Format: sound recording-musical

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House 2015

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Juvenile Audiobooks, Call number: JCDBK FICTION Stead

Robb, J. D.

Summary: In a decrepit, long-empty New York building, Lieutenant Eve Dallas's husband begins the demolition process by swinging a sledgehammer into a wall. When the dust clears, there are two skeletons wrapped in plastic behind it. He summons his wife immediately. By the time she's done with the crime scene, there are twelve murders to be solved.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Wheeler Pub. 2014

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FICTION Robb

Patterson, James

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: "To Senior Midwife Lucy Ryuan, pregnancy is not an unusual condition, it's her life's work. But when two kidnappings and a vicious stabbing happen on her watch in a university hospital in Manhattan, her focus abruptly changes. Something has to be done, and Lucy is fearless enough to try. Rumors begin to swirl, blaming everyone from the Russian Mafia to an underground adoption network. The...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Hachette Book Group 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.
Back to Top