Search
Type
Format
Sort

Hunter, Georgia

Summary: ""Reading Georgia Hunter's We Were the Lucky Ones is like being swung heart first into history. A brave and mesmerizing debut, and a truly tremendous accomplishment."--Paula McLain, New York Timesbestselling author of The Paris Wife. An extraordinary, propulsive novel based on the true story of a family of Polish Jews who scatter at the start of the Second World War, determined to survive, and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking Penguin 2017

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Hoffman, Alice

Summary: "From New York Times bestselling author Alice Hoffman comes a beautiful story of one Jewish child refugee's flight to safety in Nazi German and her mother's impossible decision to set her free"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Shuster 2019

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Hoffm

Matthiessen, Peter.

Summary: "From the two-time National Book Award winning author of The Snow Leopard and Shadow Country, a short, powerful novel about an American professor of Holocaust Studies who, over the course of a weeklong spiritual retreat at Auschwitz, is forced to grapple with his own past and a family secret: the Jewish mother abandoned to her doom by his Gentile father"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Matthi

Clayton, Meg Waite

Summary: 1936. Stephan Neuman is the son of a wealthy Jewish family in Vienna. His best friend is Žofie-Helene, a Christian girl whose mother edits a progressive, anti-Nazi newspaper. Their world is shattered when the Nazis take control. Truus Wijsmuller, a member of the Dutch resistance, risks her life smuggling Jewish children out of Nazi Germany to the nations that will take them. But after the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers 2019

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Clayt

Hoffman, Alice

Summary: "In Berlin in 1941, during humanity's darkest hour. three unforettable young women must act with courage and love to survive. At the time when the world changed, Hanni Kohn knows she must send her twelve-year-old daughter away to save her from the Nazi regime. She finds her way to a renowned rabbi, but it's his daughter, Ettie, who offers hope of salvation when she creates a mystical Jewish...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster Audio 2019

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Audiobooks, Call number: CDBK FICTION Hoffman

Diamant, Anita.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scribner 2009

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Diam

Diamant, Anita.

Summary: "From the New York Times bestselling author of The Red Tent and Day After Night, comes an unforgettable novel about family ties and values, friendship and feminism told through the eyes of a young Jewish woman growing up in Boston in the early twentieth century. Addie Baum is The Boston Girl, born in 1900 to immigrant parents who were unprepared for and suspicious of America and its effect on...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2015

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Diamant

Kadish, Rachel

Summary: "An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A. S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, anemigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Kadish

Benedict, Marie

Summary: Hedy Kiesler is lucky. Her beauty leads to a starring role in a controversial film and marriage to a powerful Austrian arms dealer, allowing her to evade Nazi persecution despite her Jewish heritage. But Hedy is also intelligent. At lavish Vienna dinner parties, she overhears the Third Reich's plans. One night in 1937, desperate to escape her controlling husband and the rise of the Nazis, she...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Sourcebooks Landmark 2019

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Bened

Gross, Max

Summary: "What if there was a town that Hitler missed? For over fifty years the tiny Jewish shtetl of Kreskol has existed virtually untouched and unchanged. Spared of the Holocaust and Cold War, Kreskol has enjoyed an isolated peace. But when a marriage dispute spirals out of control, Kreskol is suddenly rediscovered and brought into the 21st Century. Pesha is in a loveless, arranged marriage and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperVia, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Steil, Jennifer

Summary: "An atmospheric and meditative novel based on an unexplored slice of World War II history, following a young Jewish girl whose family flees refined and urbane Vienna for safe harbor in the mountains of Bolivia. As a young girl growing up in Vienna in the 1930s, Orly has an idyllic childhood filled with music. Her father plays the viola in the Philharmonic, her mother is a well-regarded opera...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2020

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Steil

Steel, Danielle

Summary: "When U.S. troops occupy Germany, friends Jakob and Emmanuelle are saved from the terrible fate of so many in the camps. With the help of sponsors, they make their way to New York. In order not to be separated, they allow their friendship to blossom into love and marriage, and start a new life on the Lower East Side, working at grueling, poorly paid jobs. Decades later, through talent, faith,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Delacorte Press 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Steel

Auster, Paul

Summary: "Paul Auster's greatest, most heartbreaking and satisfying novel -- a sweeping and surprising story of birthright and possibility, of love and of life itself: a masterpiece. Nearly two weeks early, on March 3, 1947, in the maternity ward of Beth Israel Hospital in Newark, New Jersey, Archibald Isaac Ferguson, the one and only child of Rose and Stanley Ferguson, is born. From that single...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Auster

Benedict, Marie

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2019

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FICTION Benedict

Weiner, Jennifer

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2008

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Weine

Morris, Heather

Summary: "In April 1942, Lale Sokolov, a Slovakian Jew, is forcibly transported to the concentration camps at Auschwitz-Birkenau. When his captors discover that he speaks several languages, he is put to work as a Tätowierer (the German word for tattooist), tasked with permanently marking his fellow prisoners. Imprisoned for more than two and a half years, Lale witnesses horrific atrocities and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Morris

Jenoff, Pam.

Summary: "Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep& When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thorndike Press 2017

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Tarshis, Lauren.

Summary: A young Jewish boy escapes the ghetto and finds a group of resistance fighters in the forests of Poland, and he must determine if he has what it takes to survive the Nazis and fight back.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scholastic 2014

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: JPB FIC Tars

Jenoff, Pam.

Summary: Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep& When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Mira Books 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Jenoff

Sharenow, Rob.

Summary: In 1936 Berlin, fourteen-year-old Karl Stern, considered Jewish despite a non-religious upbringing, learns to box from the legendary Max Schmeling while struggling with the realities of the Holocaust.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper Teen 2012

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Young Adult Fiction, Call number: Y FICTION Share

Lecoat, Jenny

Summary: After fleeing Vienna, Hedy Bercu, a Jewish woman living on the island of Jersey, is forced to hide in plain sight during the German occupation and to survive must depend on her own courage, her community, and a German soldier she befriends.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Graydon House 2021

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Lecoat

Lecoat, Jenny

Summary: After fleeing Vienna, Hedy Bercu, a Jewish woman living on the island of Jersey, is forced to hide in plain sight during the German occupation and to survive must depend on her own courage, her community, and a German soldier she befriends.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company 2021

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FICTION Lecoat

Deutsch, Barry.

Summary: When a troll aims a meteor at the witch's house and the witch defends herself by turning the meteor into Mirka's identical twin, the Orthodox Jewish swordfighter is challenged by the twin, who resolves to be a better version of the real girl.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Amulet Books 2012

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Juvenile Non-fiction, Call number: J 741.5 Deut

Potok, Chaim.

Contents: Connections: The man to sent rain clouds / by Leslie Marmon Silko -- Two views of friendship / by Robert Southwell -- Frienship (song lyrics) / by Cole Porter -- Two souls / by Meyer Levin -- Psalm 149 -- Zionism (nonfiction excerpts). My childhood / by Golda Meir ; Declaration of Independence from Israel / by David Ben-Gurion -- The church rocked through time / by Richard Rodriguez -- There is...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Holt, Rinehart and Winston 1995

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Young Adult Fiction, Call number: Y FICTION Potok

Back to Top