Search
Type
Format
Sort

Worsley, Lucy

Summary: ""Jane Austen at Home offers a fascinating look at Jane Austen's world through the lens of the homes in which she lived and worked throughout her life. The result is a refreshingly unique perspective on Austen and her work and a beautifully nuanced exploration of gender, creativity, and domesticity." - Amanda Foreman, bestselling author of Georgianna, Duchess of Devonshire. On the eve of the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Austen

Thompson, Laura

Summary: "The eldest was a razor-sharp novelist of upper-class manners; the second was loved by John Betjeman; the third was a fascist who married Oswald Mosley; the fourth idolized Hitler and shot herself in the head when Britain declared war on Germany; the fifth was a member of the American Communist Party; the sixth became Duchess of Devonshire. They were the Mitford sisters: Nancy, Pamela, Diana,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Mitford

Summary: Adapted from the memoirs of literary critic John Bayley, the film recounts his courtship of and long marriage to British novelist Iris Murdoch. The scenario tacks back and forth from the young Iris--ready to seduce one and all with her coy command of words and sex appeal--to the elder Iris--slowly giving way to the cruel erasure of Alzheimer's.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Miramax Home Entertainment 2002

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Movies, Call number: DVD DVD Iris

Sandlin, Lee.

Summary: "Beginning in the early 1800s and climaxing with the siege of Vicksburg in 1863, 'Wicked River' takes us back to a time before the Mississippi was dredged into a shipping channel, and before Mark Twain romanticized it into myth. Drawing on an array of suspenseful and bizarre firsthand accounts, Sandlin brings to life a place where river pirates brushed elbows with future presidents and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Pantheon Books 2010

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 977 Sandlin

Summary: The journey that led to Charles Dickens' creation of 'A Christmas Carol,' a timeless tale that would redefine the holiday.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Movies, Call number: DVD DVD Man

Goodwin, Doris Kearns.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2013

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 973.911 Good

Flynn, Kathleen A.

Summary: Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing debut novel offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world's most celebrated and beloved authors: two researchers from the future are sent back in time to meet Jane and recover a suspected unpublished novel.London, 1815: Two travelers--Rachel Katzman and Liam Finucane--arrive in a field in rural England, disheveled and weighed down...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperCollins 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Audiobooks, Call number: CDBK FICTION Flynn

Follett, Ken.

Summary: This novel picks up right where the first book left off, as its five interrelated families, American, German, Russian, English, Welsh, enter a time of enormous social, political, and economic turmoil, beginning with the rise of the Third Reich, through the Spanish Civil War and the great dramas of World War II, up to the explosions of the American and Soviet atomic bombs. Carla von Ulrich,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Dutton 2012

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Folle

Valjean, Nelson

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Chronicle Books 1975

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Ste

L'Amour, Louis

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Bantam 1989

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 LAm

Robbins, Tom

Summary: Shares stories from the author's unconventional life, from his Appalachian childhood to his adventures around the world, that is as unlikely, magical and bizarre as those of his quixotic characters.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperCollins 2014

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Robbins

Hale, Nathan

Summary: "The Donner Party expedition is one of the most notorious stories in all of American history. It's also a fascinating snapshot of the westward expansion of the United States, and the families and individuals who sacrificed so much to build new lives in a largely unknown landscape. From the preparation for the journey to each disastrous leg of the trip, this book shows the specific bad decisions...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Amulet Books 2013

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Juvenile Non-fiction, Call number: J 741.5 Hale

Boswell, James

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Encyclopædia Britannica 1955

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 828.609 Bos

Roberts, Cokie.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: William Morrow 2004

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 973.309 Rober

Summary: Amid the hard times of the Depression new dances, the Lindy Hop and Swing, caught on at the dance halls of New York even as the jobless lined the streets and drought ruined Midwest farms. Jazz, during 1929 through 1935, lifted the nation's spirit. Record sales boomed while Armstrong became a major entertainer as singer, trumpeter, band leader, radio and film performer. Ellington's elegance,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: PBS DVD 2000

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Movies, Call number: DVD 781 Burns

Summary: When America enters WWII in 1941, swing becomes a symbol of democracy and entertainers like Dave Brubeck, Glenn Miller and Artie Shaw take their music to the armed forces overseas. In Nazi-occupied Europe, gypsy guitarist Django Reinhardt blends jazz with his own musical traditions. In New York Billie Holiday is unofficial queen despite a growing addiction to narcotics. Duke Ellington, assisted...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: PBS DVD 2000

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Movies, Call number: DVD 781 Burns

Shapiro, Dani

Summary: "In the spring of 2016, through a genealogy website to which she had whimsically submitted her DNA, Dani Shapiro received the astonishing news that her beloved deceased father was not her biological father. Over the course of a single day, her entire history--the life she had lived--crumbled beneath her. In just a few hours of Internet sleuthing, she was able to piece together the story of her...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2019

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: Season two follows Queen Elizabeth through the late 1950s and early '60s as she struggles to navigate a world that's changing around her. She must face the challenges of a new era, from the Suez Canal crisis to the assassination of John F. Kennedy, while preserving both the monarchy and her marriage.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Sony Pictures Home Entertainment 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Movies, Call number: DVD DVD Crown

Barnet, Andrea

Summary: This is the story of four visionaries who profoundly shaped the world we live in today. Together, these women showed what one person speaking truth to power can do. With a keen eye for historical detail, Andrea Barnet traces the arc of each woman's career and explores how their work collectively changed the course of history. Consummate outsiders, each prevailed against powerful and mostly male...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ecco, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 920 Barnet 2018

Olson, Lynne

Summary: "The little-known story of Marie-Madeleine Fourcade, the woman who headed the largest spy network in occupied France during World War II ... In 1941 a thirty-one-year-old Frenchwoman, a young mother born to privilege and known for her beauty and glamour, became the leader of a vast intelligence organization--the only woman to serve as a chef de résistance during the war. Strong-willed,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House 2019

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 940.548 Olson 2019

Hoose, Phillip M.

Summary: "The true story of a group of boy resistance fighters in Denmark after the Nazi invasion"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2015

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Juvenile Non-fiction, Call number: J 940.53 Hoose

Hurston, Zora Neale

Summary: The true story of the last known survivor of the Atlantic slave trade, illegally smuggled from Africa on the last "black cargo" ship to arrive in the United States.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperCollins 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Audiobooks, Call number: CDBK 921 Lewis

Anderson, Scott

Summary: "At the end of World War II, the United States dominated the world militarily, economically, and in moral standing--seen as the victor over tyranny and a champion of freedom. But it was clear--to some--that the Soviet Union was already executing a plan to expand and foment revolution around the world. The American government's strategy in response relied on the secret efforts of a newly-formed...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Doubleday 2020

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 920 Anderson

Bailey, Linda

Summary: Chronicles the life of the teenaged author who created the iconic book "Frankenstein."

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Tundra 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: JE Bailey

Back to Top