Search
Type
Format
Sort

Abdul-Jabbar, Kareem

Summary: Rising War Office star Mycroft Holmes persuades his brother, Sherlock, to volunteer at a friend's orphanage, where the suspicious death of a street urchin and a mysterious Chinese woman lead the brothers into the London opium trade's dark underside.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Titan Books 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Mystery, Call number: MYSTERY Abdul

Wingate, Lisa.

Summary: "Memphis, Tennessee, 1936. The five Foss children find their lives changed forever when their parents leave them alone on the family shantyboat one stormy night. Rill Foss, just twelve years old, must protect her four younger siblings as they are wrenched from their home on the Mississippi and thrown into the care of the infamous Georgia Tann, director of the Tennessee Children's Home Society....

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, Cengage Learning 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FICTION Wingate

Stewart, Trenton Lee

Summary: Nine-year-old Nicholas Benedict, an orphan afflicted with an unfortunate nose and with narcolepsy, is sent to a new orphanage where he encounters vicious bullies, selfish adults, strange circumstances, and a mystery that could change his life forever.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown 2012

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Juvenile Fiction, Call number: J FICTION STEWART

Hart, John

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin's Press 2011

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Hart

Wiseman, Ellen Marie

Summary: In the fall of 1918, thirteen-year-old German immigrant Pia Lange longs to be far from Philadelphia's overcrowded slums and the anti-immigrant sentiment that compelled her father to enlist in the U.S. Army. But as her city celebrates the end of war, an even more urgent threat arrives: the Spanish flu. Funeral crepe and quarantine signs appear on doors as victims drop dead in the streets and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2020

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Wiseman

Oke, Janette

Summary: "With more children on their way from England who need caring homes, Lillian and Grace Walsh must use every ounce of gumption to keep their mission alive. But when startling information about the past surfaces and a new arrival comes via suspicious circumstances, they'll have to decided what is worth fighting for and what is better left in God's hands"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group 2021

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Oke

Klune, TJ

Summary: "A magical island. A dangerous task. A burning secret. Linus Baker leads a quiet, solitary life. At forty, he lives in a tiny house with a devious cat and his old records. As a Case Worker at the Department in Charge Of Magical Youth, he spends his days overseeing the well-being of children in government-sanctioned orphanages. When Linus is unexpectedly summoned by Extremely Upper Management...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Tor 2020

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Sci-Fi / Fantasy, Call number: FANTASY Klune

Ford, Jamie.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2013

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Ford

Wingate, Lisa

Summary: "Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale. Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ballantine Books 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Wingate

Oke, Janette

Summary: "Lillian Walsh and Grace Bennett have learned so much already about caring for children in distress. It hasn't been easy, but it becomes even more difficult when they suddenly discover that three children have run away. Concerned for the trio's safety, the sisters will do all they can to find the children. But the runaways are not the only thing putting the future of the children's home in...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Bethany House Publishers, a division of Baker Publishing Group 2022

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Riggs, Ransom.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Quirk Books 2013

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Young Adult Fiction, Call number: Y FICTION Riggs

Summary: Tells the story of Homer, who has lived nearly his entire life within the walls of an orphanage in rural Maine and has been trained by its proprietor, Dr. Wilbur Larch to be Larch's successor. Wally Worthington brings his pregnant girlfriend, Candy Kendall, to the orphanage because Dr. Larch provides medically safe, albeit illegal, abortions. Homer leaves with them to work on Wally's family...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Buena Vista Home Video 1999

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Movies, Call number: DVD DVD Cider

Johnson, Adam

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House 2012

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION John

Back to Top