Search
Type
Format
Sort

Atlas, Galit

Summary: "Award-winning psychoanalyst Dr. Galit Atlas draws on her patients' stories--and her own life experiences--to shed light on how generational trauma affects our lives"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown Spark 2022

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 155.9 Atlas

Michaelis, Arno

Summary: Documents the story of the unlikely and powerful friendship between a Sikh and a former white supremacist in the aftermath of Wade Michael Page's murderous 2012 attack on a Wisconsin Sikh Temple, describing how they launched the Serve 2 Unite organization to promote community inclusion and fight hate crimes.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Press 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 305.8 Michaelis 2018

Link, Mardi.

Summary: "On a bitterly cold afternoon in December 1986, a Michigan State trooper found the frozen body of Jerry Tobias in the bed of his pickup truck. The 31-year-old oil field worker and small-time drug dealer was curled up on his side on the truck's bare metal, pressed against the tailgate, clad only in jeans, a checkered shirt, and cowboy boots. Inside the cab of the truck was a fresh package of...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: University of Michigan Press 2014

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Michigan Collection, Call number: MC 364.152 Link

McNamara, Michelle

Summary: "A masterful true crime account of the Golden State Killer-- the elusive serial rapist turned murderer who terrorized California for over a decade-- from Michelle McNamara, the gifted journalist who died tragically while investigating the case. For more than ten years, a mysterious and violent predator committed fifty sexual assaults in Northern California before moving south, where he...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 364 McNAM 2018

Summary: The 2016 election of Donald J. Trump exposed a deep divide in American politics and culture, one that pollsters and pundits didn't seem to realize was there. But Trump did, and he used it to his advantage in ways that surprised nearly everyone, even those who voted for him. Perhaps the biggest question on many people's minds is how, exactly, did a crass, unrepentant reality TV star and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thomas Dunne Books, St. Martin's Press 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 973.933 Lee 2017

Grann, David.

Summary: From New Yorker staff writer David Grann, #1 New York Times best-selling author of The Lost City of Z, a twisting, haunting true-life murder mystery about one of the most monstrous crimes in American history.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House Audio 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Audiobooks, Call number: CDBK 976 Grann

Fink, Sheri,.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2013

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 362.110 Fink

Goodwin, Doris Kearns

Summary: "In this culmination of five decades of acclaimed studies in presidential history, Pulitzer Prize-winning author Doris Kearns Goodwin offers an illuminating exploration into the early development, growth, and exercise of leadership. Are leaders born or made? Where does ambition come from? How does adversity affect the growth of leadership? Does the man make the times or do the times make the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 973.09 Good 2018

Grann, David

Summary: Presents a true account of the early twentieth-century murders of dozens of wealthy Osage and law-enforcement officials, citing the contributions and missteps of a fledgling FBI that eventually uncovered one of the most chilling conspiracies in American history.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Doubleday 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 976 Grann

Kadar, Wayne Louis.

Summary: Examination and thorough research into many "cold" case throughout the Great Lakes region. Crimes of all kinds, murders, rapes, robberies and other such heinous acts. Who knows, maybe you the reader may have a clue that helps solve a case.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Avery Color Studios 2013

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Michigan Collection, Call number: MC 364.152 Kadar

Bacon, John U.

Summary: "An uplifting and compelling leadership book based on the hard-earned lessons learned by the author when he was head coach of the Ann Arbor Huron High School ice hockey team, about how he motivated, engaged, and empowered his players to go from being ranked as the absolute worst team in the nation to one of the country's best"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Kristof, Nicholas D.

Summary: Two Pulitzer Prize winners issue a call to arms against our era's most pervasive human rights violation: the oppression of women in the developing world. They show that a little help can transform the lives of women and girls abroad and that the key to economic progress lies in unleashing women's potential.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2009

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 362.830 Kris

Bowden, Mark

Summary: Cold case detectives solve the 1975 disappearance of two pre-teen girls in suburban Washington, DC.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Atlantic Monthly Press, an imprint of Grove Atlantic 2019

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 364.152 Bowden 2019

Shumaker, Heather

Summary: Saving Arcadia: A Story of Conservation and Community in the Great Lakes is a suspenseful and intimate land conservation adventure story set in the Great Lakes heartland. The story spans more than forty years, following the fate of a magnificent sand dune on Lake Michigan and the people who care about it. Author and narrator Heather Shumaker shares the remarkable untold stories behind...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: A Painted Turtle book 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Michigan Collection, Call number: MC 551.457 Shum

Broudy, Oliver

Summary: "A compelling exploration of the mysteries of environmental toxicity and the community of 'sensitives'--people with powerful, puzzling symptoms resulting from exposure to chemicals, fragrances, and cell phone signals, that have no effect on 'normals'"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2020

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 616.98 Broudy

Isaacson, Rupert.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Hachette Audio 2009

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Audiobooks, Call number: CDBK 618 Isaac

Jobb, Dean

Summary: "Framed around one salacious trial in 1891 London, a fascinating and vividly told true-crime narrative about the hunt for one of the first known serial killers, whose poisoning spree in the US, Canada, and England coincided with the birth of forensic science as well as the public's growing appetite for crime fiction such as Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holmes novels"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill 2021

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 364.1 Jobb

Johnson, Kirk W.

Summary: On a cool June evening in 2009, twenty-year-old American flautist Edwin Rist grabbed hundreds of bird skins - some collected 150 years earlier - and escaped into the darkness. Two years later, Kirk Wallace Johnson was consumed by the strange case of the feather thief. What would possess a person to steal dead birds? This is the gripping story of a bizarre and shocking crime, and one man's...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2018

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Luxenberg, Steve.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Hyperion Books 2009

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 306.875 Lux

Jamison, Leslie

Summary: Presents an exploration of addiction that blends memoir, cultural history, literary criticism, and journalistic reportage to analyze the role of stories in conveying the addiction experience, sharing insights based on the lives of artists whose achievements were shaped by addiction.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown and Company 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 616.86 JAMISON 2018

Bergner, Daniel

Summary: The touching, triumphant story of a young black man's journey from violence and despair to one of the world's most elite artistic institutions. In 2011, at the age of twenty-four, Ryan Speedo Green won a nationwide competition hosted by New York's Metropolitan Opera. Today, he is a rising star performing major roles at the Met and Europe's most prestigious opera houses.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 782.109 Berg

Larson, Erik.

Summary: In Thunderstruck, Erik Larson tells the interwoven stories of two men--Hawley Crippen, a very unlikely murderer, and Guglielmo Marconi, the obsessive creator of a seemingly supernatural means of communication--whose lives intersect during one of the greatest criminal chases of all time. - goodreads

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Crown Publishers 2006

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 364.152 Larso

Walls, Jeannette.

Summary: In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Jeannette Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric and severely misguided family. The child of an alcoholic father and an eccentric artist mother discusses her family's nomadic upbringing, during which she and her siblings fended for...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scribner 2006

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 362.820 Walls

Finkel, Michael

Summary: "For readers of Jon Krakauer and The Lost City of Z, a remarkable tale of survival and solitude--the true story of a man who lived alone in a tent in the Maine woods, never talking to another person and surviving by stealing supplies from nearby cabins for twenty-seven years. In 1986, twenty-year-old Christopher Knight left his home in Massachusetts, drove to Maine, and disappeared into the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 974.122 Finkel

Back to Top