Search
Type
Format
Sort

Summary: Looks at life at The Villages in Sumter County, Florida, America's largest retirement community.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2021

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Movies, Call number: DVD 307 Oppenheim

Saslow, Eli

Summary: "From a Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter, a powerful account of Derek Black's journey from white supremacist hero to apostle of tolerance"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 320.540 Saslow 2018

Michaelis, Arno

Summary: Documents the story of the unlikely and powerful friendship between a Sikh and a former white supremacist in the aftermath of Wade Michael Page's murderous 2012 attack on a Wisconsin Sikh Temple, describing how they launched the Serve 2 Unite organization to promote community inclusion and fight hate crimes.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Press 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 305.8 Michaelis 2018

Link, Mardi.

Summary: "On a bitterly cold afternoon in December 1986, a Michigan State trooper found the frozen body of Jerry Tobias in the bed of his pickup truck. The 31-year-old oil field worker and small-time drug dealer was curled up on his side on the truck's bare metal, pressed against the tailgate, clad only in jeans, a checkered shirt, and cowboy boots. Inside the cab of the truck was a fresh package of...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: University of Michigan Press 2014

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Michigan Collection, Call number: MC 364.152 Link

McNamara, Michelle

Summary: "A masterful true crime account of the Golden State Killer-- the elusive serial rapist turned murderer who terrorized California for over a decade-- from Michelle McNamara, the gifted journalist who died tragically while investigating the case. For more than ten years, a mysterious and violent predator committed fifty sexual assaults in Northern California before moving south, where he...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 364 McNAM 2018

Summary: The 2016 election of Donald J. Trump exposed a deep divide in American politics and culture, one that pollsters and pundits didn't seem to realize was there. But Trump did, and he used it to his advantage in ways that surprised nearly everyone, even those who voted for him. Perhaps the biggest question on many people's minds is how, exactly, did a crass, unrepentant reality TV star and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thomas Dunne Books, St. Martin's Press 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 973.933 Lee 2017

Grann, David.

Summary: From New Yorker staff writer David Grann, #1 New York Times best-selling author of The Lost City of Z, a twisting, haunting true-life murder mystery about one of the most monstrous crimes in American history.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House Audio 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Audiobooks, Call number: CDBK 976 Grann

Fink, Sheri,.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2013

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 362.110 Fink

Cochran, Jason

Summary: "Disney World, Universal Studios and Orlando come alive--quickly, enjoyably, and affordably--with an EasyGuide from the most trusted name in travel, "--Page 4 of cover.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2019

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 917.592 Disney 2020

Kristof, Nicholas D.

Summary: Two Pulitzer Prize winners issue a call to arms against our era's most pervasive human rights violation: the oppression of women in the developing world. They show that a little help can transform the lives of women and girls abroad and that the key to economic progress lies in unleashing women's potential.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2009

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 362.830 Kris

Goodwin, Doris Kearns

Summary: "In this culmination of five decades of acclaimed studies in presidential history, Pulitzer Prize-winning author Doris Kearns Goodwin offers an illuminating exploration into the early development, growth, and exercise of leadership. Are leaders born or made? Where does ambition come from? How does adversity affect the growth of leadership? Does the man make the times or do the times make the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 973.09 Good 2018

Grann, David

Summary: Presents a true account of the early twentieth-century murders of dozens of wealthy Osage and law-enforcement officials, citing the contributions and missteps of a fledgling FBI that eventually uncovered one of the most chilling conspiracies in American history.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Doubleday 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 976.6004 Grann 2017

Kadar, Wayne Louis.

Summary: Examination and thorough research into many "cold" case throughout the Great Lakes region. Crimes of all kinds, murders, rapes, robberies and other such heinous acts. Who knows, maybe you the reader may have a clue that helps solve a case.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Avery Color Studios 2013

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Michigan Collection, Call number: MC 364.152 Kadar

Bowden, Mark

Summary: Cold case detectives solve the 1975 disappearance of two pre-teen girls in suburban Washington, DC.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Atlantic Monthly Press, an imprint of Grove Atlantic 2019

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Broudy, Oliver

Summary: "A compelling exploration of the mysteries of environmental toxicity and the community of 'sensitives'--people with powerful, puzzling symptoms resulting from exposure to chemicals, fragrances, and cell phone signals, that have no effect on 'normals'"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2020

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 616.98 Broudy

Isaacson, Rupert.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Hachette Audio 2009

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Audiobooks, Call number: CDBK 618 Isaac

Johnson, Kirk W.

Summary: On a cool June evening in 2009, twenty-year-old American flautist Edwin Rist grabbed hundreds of bird skins - some collected 150 years earlier - and escaped into the darkness. Two years later, Kirk Wallace Johnson was consumed by the strange case of the feather thief. What would possess a person to steal dead birds? This is the gripping story of a bizarre and shocking crime, and one man's...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 364.16 Johns 2018

Jamison, Leslie

Summary: Presents an exploration of addiction that blends memoir, cultural history, literary criticism, and journalistic reportage to analyze the role of stories in conveying the addiction experience, sharing insights based on the lives of artists whose achievements were shaped by addiction.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown and Company 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 616.86 JAMISON 2018

Luxenberg, Steve.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Hyperion Books 2009

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 306.875 Lux

Finkel, Michael

Summary: "For readers of Jon Krakauer and The Lost City of Z, a remarkable tale of survival and solitude--the true story of a man who lived alone in a tent in the Maine woods, never talking to another person and surviving by stealing supplies from nearby cabins for twenty-seven years. In 1986, twenty-year-old Christopher Knight left his home in Massachusetts, drove to Maine, and disappeared into the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 974.122 Finkel

Taddeo, Lisa

Summary: "Desire as we've never seen it before: a riveting true story about the sex lives of three real American women, based on nearly a decade of reporting. It thrills us and torments us. It controls our thoughts, destroys our lives, and it's all we live for. Yet we almost never speak of it. And as a buried force in our lives, desire remains largely unexplored--until now. Over the past eight years,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Avid Reader Press, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, Inc. 2019

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 306.70 Taddeo 2019

Bergner, Daniel

Summary: The touching, triumphant story of a young black man's journey from violence and despair to one of the world's most elite artistic institutions. In 2011, at the age of twenty-four, Ryan Speedo Green won a nationwide competition hosted by New York's Metropolitan Opera. Today, he is a rising star performing major roles at the Met and Europe's most prestigious opera houses.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 782.109 Berg

Summary: As the Best Exotic Marigold Hotel has only a single remaining vacancy - posing a rooming predicament for two fresh arrivals - Sonny pursues his expansionist dream of opening a second hotel.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2015

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Movies, Call number: DVD DVD Second

Groen, Hendrik

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Groen

Back to Top