Search
Type
Format
Sort

Bush, Cori

Summary: Embodying a new chapter in progressive politics that prioritizes the lives and stories of the most politically vulnerable, the first black woman to represent the state of Missouri in Congress presents a powerful and empowering memoir that is both a personal account and a fierce call to action.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2022

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Bush

Nguyen, Viet Thanh

Summary: "The highly original, blistering, and unconventional memoir by the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Sympathizer, which has now sold over one million copies worldwide. With insight, humor, formal invention, and lyricism, in A Man of Two Faces Viet Thanh Nguyen rewinds the film of his own life. He expands the genre of personal memoir by acknowledging larger stories of refugeehood,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Grove Press,an imprint of Grove Atlantic 2023

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Nguyen

Taylor, Goldie

Summary: An acclaimed journalist and human rights activist shares the harrowing yet deeply hopeful story of her troubled childhood in East St. Louis--a memoir of family, faith and the power of books.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Hanover Square Press 2023

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Taylor

Finkel, Michael

Summary: "For readers of Jon Krakauer and The Lost City of Z, a remarkable tale of survival and solitude--the true story of a man who lived alone in a tent in the Maine woods, never talking to another person and surviving by stealing supplies from nearby cabins for twenty-seven years. In 1986, twenty-year-old Christopher Knight left his home in Massachusetts, drove to Maine, and disappeared into the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 974.122 Finkel

Summary: In the mid 1930s, as the Great Depression refuses to lift, Benny Goodman finds himself hailed as the "King of Swing" and becomes the first white bandleader to hire black musicians. He has a host or rivals among them, Chick Webb, Tommy Dorsey, Jimmie Lunceford, Glen Miller and Artie Shaw. Louis Armstrong heads a big band of his own, while Duke Ellington continues his independent course, but...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: PBS DVD 2000

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Movies, Call number: DVD 781 Burns

King, Stephen

Summary: In the small town of Castle Rock, Maine, unlikely alliances, a foot race, and the mystery of Scott Carey's weight loss bring out the best in people who have indulged the worst in themselves.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster Audio 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Audiobooks, Call number: CDBK FICTION King

Ho, Joanna

Summary: The New York Times bestselling author of Eyes That Kiss in the Corners, Joanna Ho, delivers a poignant picture book biography about the musician Yo-Yo Ma, immigration, and using music to build bridges. "Everyone can benefit from Ho's message of music bringing calm and peace to the world." --Booklist Joanna Ho's lyrical writing and Teresa Martinez's vibrant art weave together to tell an...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: [Library Ideas, LLC] 2021

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Juvenile Audiobooks, Call number: VOX J 921 Ma

Schmidt, Gary D.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Clarion Books 2012

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Juvenile Non-fiction, Call number: J 282.092 Schmidt

Lewis, John

Summary: This graphic novel is Congressman John Lewis' first-hand account of his lifelong struggle for civil and human rights, meditating in the modern age on the distance traveled since the days of Jim Crow and segregation. Rooted in Lewis' personal story, it also reflects on the highs and lows of the broader civil rights movement. Book One spans Lewis' youth in rural Alabama, his life-changing meeting...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2013

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult, Call number: GRNOV 741.59 Lewis

Freeman, Philip

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster 2004

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 St. Pat

Egan, Timothy.

Summary: "From the National Book Award-winning and best-selling author Timothy Egan comes the epic story of one of the most fascinating and colorful Irishman in nineteenth-century America. The Irish-American story, with all its twists and triumphs, is told through the improbable life of one man. A dashing young orator during the Great Famine of the 1840s, in which a million of his Irish countrymen died,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 2016

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Meagher

Pernoud, RGegine

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Press 1998

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Joan

Parrish, P. J.

Summary: Florida's Gulf Coast community of Sereno Key has been shaken to the core by a grisly ritualistic murder. Though an arrest is quickly made, Detective Louis Kincaid feels strangely unsettled. His uncertainty is confirmed as a second body is discovered, and then a third--each branded with the bizarre trademarks of a serial killer whose blood lust is growing. Now in a race against time, Kincaid...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Our Noir Publishing 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Mystery, Call number: PBK MYS Parr

Hanna-Attisha, Mona

Summary: "The dramatic story of the signature environmental disaster of our time and an inspiring tale of scientific resistance by a relentless physician who stood up to power. Flint was already a troubled city in 2014 when the state of Michigan--in the name of austerity--shifted the source of its water supply from Lake Huron to the Flint River. Soon after, citizens began complaining about the water...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: One World 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Michigan Collection, Call number: MC 615.9 Hanna 2018

Thundercloud, Ria

Summary: "In her debut picture book, professional Indigenous dancer Ria Thundercloud tells the true story of her path to dance and how it helped her take pride in her Native American heritage"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Penguin Workshop 2022

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Juvenile Non-fiction, Call number: J 921 Thundercloud

Lawhon, Ariel

5 holds on 2 copies

Summary: "A gripping historical mystery based on the real-life diary entries of Martha Ballard, an 18th-century midwife who defied the legal system and wrote herself into American history. Maine, 1789: When the Kennebec River freezes, entombing a man in the ice, Martha Ballard is summoned to examine the body and determine cause of death. As a midwife and healer, she is privy to much of what goes on...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Doubleday 2023

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Wilson-Lee, Edward

Summary: "The Catalogue of Shipwrecked Books tells the story of the first and greatest visionary of the print age, a man who saw how the explosive expansion of knowledge and information generated by the advent of the printing press would entirely change the landscape of thought and society. He also happened to be Christopher Columbus's illegitimate son. At the peak of the Age of Exploration, while his...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scribner 2019

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Colon 2019

Hillenbrand, Laura.

Summary: On a May afternoon in 1943, an Army Air Forces bomber crashed into the Pacific Ocean and disappeared, leaving only a spray of debris and a slick of oil, gasoline, and blood. Then, on the ocean surface, a face appeared--Lt. Louis Zamperini. Captured by the Japanese and driven to the limits of endurance, Zamperini would answer desperation with ingenuity; suffering with hope, resolve, and humor.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House 2010

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 940.547 Hillen

Hillenbrand, Laura.

Summary: On a May afternoon in 1943, an Army Air Forces bomber crashed into the Pacific Ocean and disappeared, leaving only a spray of debris and a slick of oil, gasoline, and blood. Then, on the ocean surface, a face appeared--Lt. Louis Zamperini. Captured by the Japanese and driven to the limits of endurance, Zamperini would answer desperation with ingenuity; suffering with hope, resolve, and humor.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House Large Print 2010

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP 940.5472 Hillen

Geist, William

Summary: Before there was 'tourism' and souvenir ashtrays became 'kitsch,' the Lake of the Ozarks was a Shangri-La for middle-class Midwestern families on vacation, complete with man-made beaches, Hillbilly Mini Golf, and feathered rubber tomahawks. It was there that television host Bill Geist spent summers in the sixties during his school and college years, working at Arrowhead Lodge -- a small resort...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Grand Central Publishing 2019

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Geist 2019

Aristotle.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc. 1990

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 185.1 Arist

Summary: Between 1945 and 1955 jazz splinters into different camps: cool and hot, East and West, traditional and modern. One by one, the big bands leave the road, but Duke Ellington keeps his band together, while Louis Armstrong puts together a small group, the "All-Stars." Promoter Norman Granz insists on equal treatment for every member of his integrated troupes on his Jazz at the Philharmonic Tours....

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: PBS DVD 2000

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Movies, Call number: DVD 781 Burns

Summary: In the 1960s jazz fragments into the avant-garde and many divided schools of thought. Many jazz musicians like Dexter Gordon are forced to leave America in search of work while other use the music as a form of social protest: Max Roach, Charles Mingus, and Archie Shepp make overtly political musical statements. John Coltrane appeals to a broad audience before his untimely death. Saxophonist...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: PBS DVD 2000

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Movies, Call number: DVD 781 Burns

Iftin, Abdi Nor

Summary: Now a proud resident of Maine, on the path to citizenship, Abdi Nor Iftin's dramatic, deeply stirring memoir is truly a story for our time: a vivid reminder of why western democracies still beckon to those looking to make a better life.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 305.893 Iftin 2018

Back to Top