Search
Type
Format
Sort

Bush, Cori

Summary: Embodying a new chapter in progressive politics that prioritizes the lives and stories of the most politically vulnerable, the first black woman to represent the state of Missouri in Congress presents a powerful and empowering memoir that is both a personal account and a fierce call to action.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2022

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Bush

Taylor, Goldie

Summary: An acclaimed journalist and human rights activist shares the harrowing yet deeply hopeful story of her troubled childhood in East St. Louis--a memoir of family, faith and the power of books.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Hanover Square Press 2023

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Finkel, Michael

Summary: "For readers of Jon Krakauer and The Lost City of Z, a remarkable tale of survival and solitude--the true story of a man who lived alone in a tent in the Maine woods, never talking to another person and surviving by stealing supplies from nearby cabins for twenty-seven years. In 1986, twenty-year-old Christopher Knight left his home in Massachusetts, drove to Maine, and disappeared into the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 974.122 Finkel

Summary: In the mid 1930s, as the Great Depression refuses to lift, Benny Goodman finds himself hailed as the "King of Swing" and becomes the first white bandleader to hire black musicians. He has a host or rivals among them, Chick Webb, Tommy Dorsey, Jimmie Lunceford, Glen Miller and Artie Shaw. Louis Armstrong heads a big band of his own, while Duke Ellington continues his independent course, but...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: PBS DVD 2000

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Movies, Call number: DVD 781 Burns

King, Stephen

Summary: In the small town of Castle Rock, Maine, unlikely alliances, a foot race, and the mystery of Scott Carey's weight loss bring out the best in people who have indulged the worst in themselves.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster Audio 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Audiobooks, Call number: CDBK FICTION King

Lewis, John

Summary: This graphic novel is Congressman John Lewis' first-hand account of his lifelong struggle for civil and human rights, meditating in the modern age on the distance traveled since the days of Jim Crow and segregation. Rooted in Lewis' personal story, it also reflects on the highs and lows of the broader civil rights movement. Book One spans Lewis' youth in rural Alabama, his life-changing meeting...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2013

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult, Call number: GRNOV 741.59 Lewis

Freeman, Philip

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster 2004

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 St. Pat

Schmidt, Gary D.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Clarion Books 2012

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Juvenile Non-fiction, Call number: J 282.092 Schmidt

Egan, Timothy.

Summary: "From the National Book Award-winning and best-selling author Timothy Egan comes the epic story of one of the most fascinating and colorful Irishman in nineteenth-century America. The Irish-American story, with all its twists and triumphs, is told through the improbable life of one man. A dashing young orator during the Great Famine of the 1840s, in which a million of his Irish countrymen died,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 2016

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Meagher

Pernoud, RGegine

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Press 1998

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Joan

Parrish, P. J.

Summary: Florida's Gulf Coast community of Sereno Key has been shaken to the core by a grisly ritualistic murder. Though an arrest is quickly made, Detective Louis Kincaid feels strangely unsettled. His uncertainty is confirmed as a second body is discovered, and then a third--each branded with the bizarre trademarks of a serial killer whose blood lust is growing. Now in a race against time, Kincaid...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Our Noir Publishing 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Mystery, Call number: PBK MYS Parr

Hanna-Attisha, Mona

Summary: "The dramatic story of the signature environmental disaster of our time and an inspiring tale of scientific resistance by a relentless physician who stood up to power. Flint was already a troubled city in 2014 when the state of Michigan--in the name of austerity--shifted the source of its water supply from Lake Huron to the Flint River. Soon after, citizens began complaining about the water...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: One World 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Michigan Collection, Call number: MC 615.9 Hanna 2018

Thundercloud, Ria

Summary: "In her debut picture book, professional Indigenous dancer Ria Thundercloud tells the true story of her path to dance and how it helped her take pride in her Native American heritage"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Penguin Workshop 2022

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Juvenile Non-fiction, Call number: J 921 Thundercloud

Wilson-Lee, Edward

Summary: "The Catalogue of Shipwrecked Books tells the story of the first and greatest visionary of the print age, a man who saw how the explosive expansion of knowledge and information generated by the advent of the printing press would entirely change the landscape of thought and society. He also happened to be Christopher Columbus's illegitimate son. At the peak of the Age of Exploration, while his...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scribner 2019

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Colon 2019

Hillenbrand, Laura.

Summary: On a May afternoon in 1943, an Army Air Forces bomber crashed into the Pacific Ocean and disappeared, leaving only a spray of debris and a slick of oil, gasoline, and blood. Then, on the ocean surface, a face appeared--Lt. Louis Zamperini. Captured by the Japanese and driven to the limits of endurance, Zamperini would answer desperation with ingenuity; suffering with hope, resolve, and humor.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House Large Print 2010

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP 940.5472 Hillen

Hillenbrand, Laura.

Summary: On a May afternoon in 1943, an Army Air Forces bomber crashed into the Pacific Ocean and disappeared, leaving only a spray of debris and a slick of oil, gasoline, and blood. Then, on the ocean surface, a face appeared--Lt. Louis Zamperini. Captured by the Japanese and driven to the limits of endurance, Zamperini would answer desperation with ingenuity; suffering with hope, resolve, and humor.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House 2010

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 940.547 Hillen

Geist, William

Summary: Before there was 'tourism' and souvenir ashtrays became 'kitsch,' the Lake of the Ozarks was a Shangri-La for middle-class Midwestern families on vacation, complete with man-made beaches, Hillbilly Mini Golf, and feathered rubber tomahawks. It was there that television host Bill Geist spent summers in the sixties during his school and college years, working at Arrowhead Lodge -- a small resort...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Grand Central Publishing 2019

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Geist 2019

Aristotle.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc. 1990

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 185.1 Arist

Summary: Between 1945 and 1955 jazz splinters into different camps: cool and hot, East and West, traditional and modern. One by one, the big bands leave the road, but Duke Ellington keeps his band together, while Louis Armstrong puts together a small group, the "All-Stars." Promoter Norman Granz insists on equal treatment for every member of his integrated troupes on his Jazz at the Philharmonic Tours....

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: PBS DVD 2000

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Movies, Call number: DVD 781 Burns

Summary: In the 1960s jazz fragments into the avant-garde and many divided schools of thought. Many jazz musicians like Dexter Gordon are forced to leave America in search of work while other use the music as a form of social protest: Max Roach, Charles Mingus, and Archie Shepp make overtly political musical statements. John Coltrane appeals to a broad audience before his untimely death. Saxophonist...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: PBS DVD 2000

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Movies, Call number: DVD 781 Burns

Freeman, Philip

Summary: "Someone is killing the nuns of Ireland. The grisly discovery of an elderly sister of Saint Brigid's monastery strangled, bled dry, and thrown into a bog is just the beginning. Soon a beautiful young nun is found decapitated and hung from a barren tree. It doesn't take long before the members of the struggling monastic community of Kildare realize that not only are the nuns being hunted by a...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Pegasus Books 2015

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Geist, William.

Summary: Before there was 'tourism' and souvenir ashtrays became 'kitsch,' it was a Shangri-La for middle-class Midwestern families on vacation, complete with man-made beaches, Hillbilly Mini Golf, and feathered rubber tomahawks. It was there that author Bill Geist spent summers in the Sixties during his school and college years working at Arrowhead Lodge-a small resort owned by his bombastic uncle-in...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Hachette Audio 2019

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Audiobooks, Call number: CDBK 921 Geist

Iftin, Abdi Nor

Summary: Now a proud resident of Maine, on the path to citizenship, Abdi Nor Iftin's dramatic, deeply stirring memoir is truly a story for our time: a vivid reminder of why western democracies still beckon to those looking to make a better life.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 305.893 Iftin 2018

Fisher, David

Summary: "The must-have companion to Bill O'Reilly's documentary television series Legends and Lies: The Real West, a fascinating, eye-opening look at the truth behind the western legends we all think we know : How did Davy Crockett save President Jackson's life only to end up dying at the Alamo? Was the Lone Ranger based on a real lawman--and was he an African American? What amazing detective work led...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2015

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 978 Fisher

Back to Top