Search
Type
Format
Sort

Wingate, Lisa

Summary: "Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale. Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ballantine Books 2017

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Wingate, Lisa

Summary: "Louisiana, 1875: In the tumultuous aftermath of Reconstruction, three young women set off as unwilling companions on a perilous quest: Lavinia, the pampered heir to a now-destitute plantation; Juneau Jane, her illegitimate free-born Creole half-sister; and Hannie, Lavinia's former slave. Each carries private wounds and powerful secrets as they head for Texas, following dangerous roads rife...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ballantine Books 2020

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

2 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Wingate

Wingate, Lisa.

Summary: "Memphis, Tennessee, 1936. The five Foss children find their lives changed forever when their parents leave them alone on the family shantyboat one stormy night. Rill Foss, just twelve years old, must protect her four younger siblings as they are wrenched from their home on the Mississippi and thrown into the care of the infamous Georgia Tann, director of the Tennessee Children's Home Society....

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, Cengage Learning 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FICTION Wingate

Back to Top