Search
Type
Format
Sort

Winn, Raynor

Summary: "The incredible follow-up to the international bestseller The Salt Path, a story of finding your way back home. Nature holds the answers for Raynor and her husband Moth. After walking 630 homeless miles along The Salt Path, living on the windswept and wild English coastline; the cliffs, the sky and the chalky earth now feel like their home. Moth has a terminal diagnosis, but together on the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Penguin Books 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Winn, Raynor

Summary: "Just days after Raynor Winn learns that Moth, her husband of thirty-two years, is terminally ill, their house and farm are taken away, along with their livelihood. With nothing left and little time, they make the brave and impulsive decision to walk the630 miles of the sea-swept South West Coast Path, from Somerset to Dorset, through Devon and Cornwall. Carrying only the essentials for...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Penguin Books 2019

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Contents: History of Old Wing Mission -- George N. Smith memoranda and diaries, 1839-1849 -- Arvilla Powers Smith diary, 1832-1845 -- Arvilla Powers Smith : a pioneer woman -- Etra Smith Wilson, life and work of the late Rev. George N. Smith : a pioneer missionary -- Annual reports and correspondence with the superintendent of Indian affairs, 1839-1850.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Wm. B. Eerdmans Pub. 2008

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Michigan Collection, Call number: MC 266.022 Swier

Langford, Jo

Summary: Jo Langford offers a complete guide to sexual and social development, safety, and health for LGBTQ youth and those who love and support them. Written from a practical perspective, the author explores the realities of teen sexuality, particularly that of trans teens, and provides guidance and understanding for parents and kids alike.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 306.76 Lang 2018

Hanscom, Angela J.

Summary: "In this important book, a pediatric occupational therapist and founder of TimberNook shows how outdoor play and unstructured freedom of movement are vital for children's cognitive development and growth, and offers tons of fun, engaging ways to help ensure that kids grow into healthy, balanced, and resilient adults. Today's kids have adopted sedentary lifestyles filled with television, video...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Parenting Collection, Call number: PARENTING 306.481 Hans

Moyes, Jojo

Summary: Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life -- steady boyfriend, close family -- who has never been farther afield than her village. She takes a job working for ex-Master of the Universe Will Traynor, now wheelchair-bound after a motorcycle accident. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: PBK FIC Moyes

Nguyen, Bich Minh.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2007

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Michigan Collection, Call number: MC 921 Nguy

Demos, John.

Summary: Near the start of the nineteenth century, a group of eminent Protestant ministers formed a grand scheme for gathering the rest of mankind into the redemptive fold of Christianity. Its core element was a special school for youth drawn from all parts of the earth, including the Pacific Islands, China, India, and the native nations of North America. If all went well, graduates would return to join...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2014

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 371.829 Demos

Howson, Cynthia.

Summary: Could China take over the wine world? Cynthia Howson and Pierre Ly explore how Chinese wine went from being ignored and ridiculed to earning gold medals and praise by famous critics in less than a decade. Wine made in... China? Until recently, for most people, at best, it didn't exist. Or at worst, as one colorful tasting note described, it evoked: "ash tray, coffee grounds, and urinal crust."...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Rowman & Littlefield 2020

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 915.104 Howson 2020

Steel, Danielle

Summary: "When U.S. troops occupy Germany, friends Jakob and Emmanuelle are saved from the terrible fate of so many in the camps. With the help of sponsors, they make their way to New York. In order not to be separated, they allow their friendship to blossom into love and marriage, and start a new life on the Lower East Side, working at grueling, poorly paid jobs. Decades later, through talent, faith,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Delacorte Press 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Steel

Summary: "They were charismatic and forward thinking, imaginative and courageous, compassionate and resolute, and, at times, arrogant, vengeful and reckless. For hundreds of years, Native American leaders from Massasoit, Tecumseh, and Tenskwatawa, to Major Ridge, Geronimo, and Fools Crow valiantly resisted expulsion from their lands and fought the extinction of their culture. Sometimes, their strategies...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: [Distributed by] PBS Home Video 2009

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Movies, Call number: DVD 970 PBS

McDonnell, Michael A.

Summary: "In Masters of Empire, the historian Michael A. McDonnell reveals the pivotal role played by the native peoples of the Great Lakes in the history of North America. Though less well known than the Iroquois or Sioux, the Anishinaabeg, who lived across Lakes Michigan and Huron, were equally influential. Masters of Empire charts the story of one group, the Odawa, who settled at the straits between...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2015

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Michigan Collection, Call number: MC 977.401 McDonn

Buttigieg, Pete

Summary: Once described by the Washington Post as "the most interesting mayor you've never heard of," Pete Buttigieg, the thirty-six-year-old Democratic mayor of South Bend, Indiana, has improbably emerged as one of the nation's most visionary politicians. First elected in 2011, Buttigieg left a successful business career to move back to his hometown, previously tagged by Newsweek as a "dying city,"...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Liveright Publishing Corporation 2019

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Buttigieg 2019

Dobbs, Michael

Summary: "The powerfully told story of a group of German Jews desperately seeking American visas to escape the Nazis, and an illuminating account of America's struggle with the refugee crisis caused by the rise of Hitler. Official tie-in to the U.S. Holocaust Museum multi-year exhibit"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2019

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 940.53 Dobbs 2019

Hanna-Attisha, Mona

Summary: "The dramatic story of the signature environmental disaster of our time and an inspiring tale of scientific resistance by a relentless physician who stood up to power. Flint was already a troubled city in 2014 when the state of Michigan--in the name of austerity--shifted the source of its water supply from Lake Huron to the Flint River. Soon after, citizens began complaining about the water...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: One World 2018

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Michigan Collection, Call number: MC 615.9 Hanna 2018

Kalanithi, Paul

Summary: "For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Kalan

Riggs, Nina

Summary: "Built on her wildly popular Modern Love column, 'When a Couch is More Than a Couch' (9/23/2016), a breathtaking memoir of living meaningfully with 'death in the room' by the 38 year old great-great-great granddaughter of Ralph Waldo Emerson, mother to two young boys, wife of 16 years, after her terminal cancer diagnosis"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Riggs

Sundquist, Josh.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2015

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Young Adult Fiction, Call number: Y FICTION Sundquist

Boyden, Joseph

Summary: "History reveals itself when, in the seventeenth century, a Jesuit missionary ventures into the Canadian wilderness in search of converts-the defining moment of first contact between radically different worlds. What unfolds over the next several years is truly epic, constantly illuminating and surprising, sometimes comic, always entrancing and ultimately all too human in its tragic grandeur. ...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION Boyde

Chakraborty, S. A.

Summary: "The sequel to S. A. Chakraborty's brilliantly imagined fantasy The City of Brass, which #1 New York Times bestelling author Sabaa Tahir called "the best adult fantasy I've read since The Name of the Wind", in which a young con artist drawn into the kingdom of the djinn must navigate her way through their dangerous world of magic, court politics, and ever-shifting alliances"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper Voyager, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2019

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Sci-Fi / Fantasy, Call number: FANTASY Chak

Ridley, Jane.

Contents: Introduction: The eighty-nine steps -- Youth. -- Victoria and Albert 1841 -- "Our poor strange boy" 1841-1856 -- 'Neither fish nor flesh' 1856-1860 -- Bertie's fall 1861 -- Marriage 1861-1863 -- "Totally totally unfit .?.?. for ever becoming king" 1863-1865 -- Alix's knee 1865-1867 -- Marlborough House and Harriett Mordaunt 1868-1870 -- Annus horribilis 1870-1871 -- Expanding middle. --...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2013

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Edward

Disney, Walt 1901-1966

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 1992

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: JE Disney

Roberts, Gary L.

Summary: "At dawn on the morning of November 29, 1864, Colonel John Milton Chivington gave the command that led to slaughter of 230 peaceful Cheyennes and Arapahos--primarily women, children, and elderly--camped under the protection of the U. S. government along Sand Creek in Colorado Territory and flying both an American flag and a white flag. The Sand Creek massacre seized national attention in the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 978.802 Roberts

Orlean, Susan.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster 2011

Copies Available at Suttons Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 636.737 Orlean

Back to Top